Saptamuni, Sapta-muni: 4 definitions


Saptamuni means something in Buddhism, Pali, Hinduism, Sanskrit. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Hinduism

Purana and Itihasa (epic history)

[«previous next»] — Saptamuni in Purana glossary
Source: Yoga Vasishtha Maharamayana

Saptamuni (सप्तमुनि) refers to “(the region of the) Pleiades”, as mentioned in the Yogavasistha 4.52 (“Grandeur of the air-born king”).—Accordingly, as Vasiṣṭha narrated: “It was on one occasion that I passed by that (Dasura’s) way in my invisible body, to bathe in the heavenly stream of mandakini (milky way) in the etherial regions. After my departure from that region by the way of the Pleiades [i.e., saptamuni-maṇḍala], I arrived to the spot where Dasura dwelt on his high Kadamba tree. I came to listen to a voice proceeding from the hollow of the tree in the forest, which was as charming as the buzzing of the bee, fluttering about the bud of a lotus. [...]”.

Source: Shiva Purana - English Translation

Mūrtibheda (मूर्तिभेद) refers to the “seven celestial sages”, according to the Śivapurāṇa 2.3.25.—Accordingly, as Śiva said: “O dear seven celestial sages [i.e., saptamuni], listen to my words. You are all my benefactors. You are clever and perfectly wise. The great Goddess Pārvatī, the daughter of the mountain is performing a penance now in the mountain called Gaurīśikhara, with a steady mind. O brahmins, she is desirous of attaining me as her husband. She is being served by her maids. She has discarded all other desires. She is determined in her resolve. [...]”.

Purana book cover
context information

The Purana (पुराण, purāṇas) refers to Sanskrit literature preserving ancient India’s vast cultural history, including historical legends, religious ceremonies, various arts and sciences. The eighteen mahapuranas total over 400,000 shlokas (metrical couplets) and date to at least several centuries BCE.

Discover the meaning of saptamuni in the context of Purana from relevant books on Exotic India

Jyotisha (astronomy and astrology)

[«previous next»] — Saptamuni in Jyotisha glossary
Source: Wisdom Library: Brihat Samhita by Varahamihira

Saptamuni (सप्तमुनि) or Saptarṣi refers to the “seven sages”, according to the Bṛhatsaṃhitā (chapter 12), an encyclopedic Sanskrit work written by Varāhamihira mainly focusing on the science of ancient Indian astronomy astronomy (Jyotiṣa).—Accordingly, “I shall now expound about the movements of the Seven Ṛṣis (Saptarṣi) [i.e., saptamunisaptabhir munibhiḥ], through whom the northern region shines as though bedecked with a pearl necklace, like a maiden with a smiling countenance wearing a garland of white lotuses. Or by the direction of her lord—the Pole-Star (Seven Ṛṣis), the northern maiden (quarter) appears to dance round as the Seven Ṛṣis move in their course. I begin to treat of these stars adopting the views of Vṛddha Garga”.

Jyotisha book cover
context information

Jyotisha (ज्योतिष, jyotiṣa or jyotish) refers to ‘astronomy’ or “Vedic astrology” and represents the fifth of the six Vedangas (additional sciences to be studied along with the Vedas). Jyotisha concerns itself with the study and prediction of the movements of celestial bodies, in order to calculate the auspicious time for rituals and ceremonies.

Discover the meaning of saptamuni in the context of Jyotisha from relevant books on Exotic India

In Buddhism

Tibetan Buddhism (Vajrayana or tantric Buddhism)

Source: OSU Press: Cakrasamvara Samadhi

Saptamuni (सप्तमुनि) refers to the “seven sages”, according to the Guru Mandala Worship (maṇḍalārcana) ritual often performed in combination with the Cakrasaṃvara Samādhi, which refers to the primary pūjā and sādhanā practice of Newah Mahāyāna-Vajrayāna Buddhists in Nepal.

Tibetan Buddhism book cover
context information

Tibetan Buddhism includes schools such as Nyingma, Kadampa, Kagyu and Gelug. Their primary canon of literature is divided in two broad categories: The Kangyur, which consists of Buddha’s words, and the Tengyur, which includes commentaries from various sources. Esotericism and tantra techniques (vajrayāna) are collected indepently.

Discover the meaning of saptamuni in the context of Tibetan Buddhism from relevant books on Exotic India

See also (Relevant definitions)

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: