Saptajihva, Sapta-jihva, Saptan-jihva: 4 definitions


Saptajihva means something in Hinduism, Sanskrit. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Hinduism

Vedanta (school of philosophy)

[«previous (S) next»] — Saptajihva in Vedanta glossary
Source: Swami Krishnananda: Commentary on the Mundaka Upanishad, Chapter 1: Section 2

Saptajihva:—In a properly performed sacrifice, seven flames of the fire are supposed to shoot up, not just one or two. The hungry fire will lap up in seven tongues, and the seven tongues have their own names –

  1. kālī: the black one;
  2. karalī: the blacker one;
  3. mano-javā: rapid like the movement of the mind; sulhoitā: reddish in colour;
  4. sudhūmravarṇā: brownish in colour;
  5. sphuliṅginī: sparking forth;
  6. viśva-rūpi: radiant;
  7. devī: divine are the flames.

Agni himself rises up to receive our offering and take us to the gods so that, in their satisfaction, they lift us up to the abode of the gods.

context information

Vedanta (वेदान्त, vedānta) refers to a school of orthodox Hindu philosophy (astika), drawing its subject-matter from the Upanishads. There are a number of sub-schools of Vedanta, however all of them expound on the basic teaching of the ultimate reality (brahman) and liberation (moksha) of the individual soul (atman).

Discover the meaning of saptajihva in the context of Vedanta from relevant books on Exotic India

Shaktism (Shakta philosophy)

[«previous (S) next»] — Saptajihva in Shaktism glossary
Source: JSTOR: Tāntric Dīkṣā by Surya Kanta

Saptajihvā (सप्तजिह्वा) refers to one of the eight forms of fire (agni) to be assigned to the body parts of the worshipper during preliminary rites before Dīkṣā: an important ritual of Śāktism described in the Śāradātilaka-tantra, chapters III-V. The various tongues (jihvās) of fire are assigned to the various limbs of the body of the worshipper. The eight forms of fire (viz. Saptajihvā) are assigned to the body of the worshipper.

Shaktism book cover
context information

Shakta (शाक्त, śākta) or Shaktism (śāktism) represents a tradition of Hinduism where the Goddess (Devi) is revered and worshipped. Shakta literature includes a range of scriptures, including various Agamas and Tantras, although its roots may be traced back to the Vedas.

Discover the meaning of saptajihva in the context of Shaktism from relevant books on Exotic India

Languages of India and abroad

Sanskrit-English dictionary

[«previous (S) next»] — Saptajihva in Sanskrit glossary
Source: DDSA: The practical Sanskrit-English dictionary

Saptajihva (सप्तजिह्व).—fire. (the seven tongues are kālī, karālī, manojavā, sulohitā, sudhūmravarṇā, ugrā and pradīptā).

Derivable forms: saptajihvaḥ (सप्तजिह्वः).

Saptajihva is a Sanskrit compound consisting of the terms saptan and jihva (जिह्व). See also (synonyms): saptajvāla.

Source: Cologne Digital Sanskrit Dictionaries: Shabda-Sagara Sanskrit-English Dictionary

Saptajihva (सप्तजिह्व).—m.

(-hvaḥ) Agni or fire. E. sapta seven, jihvā a tongue or flame.

context information

Sanskrit, also spelled संस्कृतम् (saṃskṛtam), is an ancient language of India commonly seen as the grandmother of the Indo-European language family. Closely allied with Prakrit and Pali, Sanskrit is more exhaustive in both grammar and terms and has the most extensive collection of literature in the world, greatly surpassing its sister-languages Greek and Latin.

Discover the meaning of saptajihva in the context of Sanskrit from relevant books on Exotic India

See also (Relevant definitions)

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: