Sanyasa, Sanyāsa: 4 definitions


Sanyasa means something in Hinduism, Sanskrit, Hindi. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Hinduism

Purana and Itihasa (epic history)

Source: Puranic Encyclopedia

Sanyāsa (सन्यास).—(SANNYĀSA) One of the four stages of Brahminical life. The four stages are Brahmacarya (Religious student), Gārhasthya (householder), Vānaprastha (Forest-dweller) and Sannyāsa (hermit or sage). (For further details see under Āśrama). Duties of a hermit. Manu has ordained that one should perform sannyāsa (renunciation) at the fourth stage of life renouncing every tie with the world. After becoming a hermit he should travel daily alone. He should enter villages only for food. He should have renounced wealth. He should not acquire any wealth. He should be a sage filled with knowledge. He should have a skull as the pot for taking alms. He should sleep under trees. He should wear poor cloth and should be solitary. He should consider everybody as equal. Having become a hermit he should not delight in death or life. (See full article at Story of Sanyāsa from the Puranic encyclopaedia by Vettam Mani)

Purana book cover
context information

The Purana (पुराण, purāṇas) refers to Sanskrit literature preserving ancient India’s vast cultural history, including historical legends, religious ceremonies, various arts and sciences. The eighteen mahapuranas total over 400,000 shlokas (metrical couplets) and date to at least several centuries BCE.

Discover the meaning of sanyasa in the context of Purana from relevant books on Exotic India

Gitashastra (science of music)

Source: Shodhganga: Elements of Art and Architecture in the Trtiyakhanda of the Visnudharmottarapurana (gita)

Sanyāsa (सन्यास) refers to one of the thirteen Jātis or “proper combination of two grāmas (in Indian music), according to the Kallinātha’s commentary Kalānidhi on the Saṃgītaratnākara.—In the Nāṭyaśāstra, jātis are broadly divided into two types viz., śuddhā and vikṛtā. The Saṃgītaratnākara also agrees on it. But in the Viṣṇudharmottarapurāṇa, the reference about the types of jātis is not found. The Saṃgītaratnākara accepts thirteen kinds of characteristic features of jātis. For example: Sanyāsa, which is however not accepted by the Nāṭyaśāstra.

context information

Gitashastra (गीतशास्त्र, gītaśāstra) refers to the ancient Indian science of Music (gita or samgita), which is traditionally divided in Vocal music, Instrumental music and Dance (under the jurisdiction of music). The different elements and technical terms are explained in a wide range of (often Sanskrit) literature.

Discover the meaning of sanyasa in the context of Gitashastra from relevant books on Exotic India

Languages of India and abroad

Hindi dictionary

[«previous next»] — Sanyasa in Hindi glossary
Source: DDSA: A practical Hindi-English dictionary

Sanyāsa (सन्यास):—(nm) see ['saṃnyāsa'].

context information


Discover the meaning of sanyasa in the context of Hindi from relevant books on Exotic India

Kannada-English dictionary

Source: Alar: Kannada-English corpus

Sanyāsa (ಸನ್ಯಾಸ):—

1) [noun] the act of leaving, giving up something completely or for ever; abandonment.

2) [noun] the stage in which a person renounces everything in the wordly life and is living a self-imposed poverty with regorous discipline and desireless life, for realising a higher spiritual stage.

3) [noun] a vow of abstaining from food.

4) [noun] a kind of disease.

5) [noun] a singing of a rāga in an elaborate and aesthetic manner.

context information

Kannada is a Dravidian language (as opposed to the Indo-European language family) mainly spoken in the southwestern region of India.

Discover the meaning of sanyasa in the context of Kannada from relevant books on Exotic India

See also (Relevant definitions)

Relevant text

Related products

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: