Sandhyanga, aka: Sandhi-anga, Sandhyaṅga; 2 Definition(s)


Sandhyanga means something in Buddhism, Pali, Hinduism, Sanskrit. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Hinduism

Natyashastra (theatrics and dramaturgy)

Sandhyanga in Natyashastra glossary... « previous · [S] · next »

Sandhyaṅga (सन्ध्यङ्ग) refers to the sixty-four elements (aṅga) of the segments (sandhi), according to the Nāṭyaśāstra chapter 21. It can also be spelled as Saṃdhyāṅga. There are five kinds of segments of the plot (itivṛtta or vastu) of a dramatic play (nāṭaka).

The sixty-four elements of segments (sandhyaṅga) are grouped under five headings as follows:

  1. mukhāṅga or mukhasandhi (the 12 limbs of the opening segment),
  2. pratimukhāṅga or pratimukhasandhi (the 13 limbs the progression segment),
  3. garbhāṅga or garbhasandhi (the 13 limbs of the development segment),
  4. vimarśāṅga or vimarśasandhi (the 13 limbs of the pause segment),
  5. nirvahaṇāṅga or nirvahaṇasandhi (the 14 limbs of the conclusion segment).
Source: Wisdom Library: Nāṭya-śāstra
Natyashastra book cover
context information

Natyashastra (नाट्यशास्त्र, nāṭyaśāstra) refers to both the ancient Indian tradition (śāstra) of performing arts, (nāṭya, e.g., theatrics, drama, dance, music), as well as the name of a Sanskrit work dealing with these subjects. It also teaches the rules for composing dramatic plays (nataka) and poetic works (kavya).

Discover the meaning of sandhyanga in the context of Natyashastra from relevant books on Exotic India

In Buddhism

Tibetan Buddhism (Vajrayana or tantric Buddhism)

Sandhyaṅga (सन्ध्यङ्ग).—The “aspects of dramatic juncture” refer to the different sections of a play, signifying the particular phases of the plot, which require dialogue to be spoken in various languages. These comprise:

  1. mukhasandhi (introduction or protasis),
  2. pratimukhasandhi (progression or epitasis),
  3. garbhasandhi (development or catastasis),
  4. vimarśasandhi (crisis or peripeteia),
  5. nirvahaṇasandhi (conclusion or catastrophe).

These are known as the five sequences of dramatic juncture.

Source: Google Books: The Treasury of Knowledge: Book six, parts one and two
Tibetan Buddhism book cover
context information

Tibetan Buddhism includes schools such as Nyingma, Kadampa, Kagyu and Gelug. Their primary canon of literature is divided in two broad categories: The Kangyur, which consists of Buddha’s words, and the Tengyur, which includes commentaries from various sources. Esotericism and tantra techniques (vajrayāna) are collected indepently.

Discover the meaning of sandhyanga in the context of Tibetan Buddhism from relevant books on Exotic India

Relevant definitions

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: