Samyutta-hastani, Saṃyutta-hastāni: 1 definition


Samyutta-hastani means something in Hinduism, Sanskrit. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Hinduism

Natyashastra (theatrics and dramaturgy)

[«previous next»] — Samyutta-hastani in Natyashastra glossary
Source: The mirror of gesture (abhinaya-darpana)

Combined Hands (saṃyutta-hastāni): Twenty-four combined Hands are exhibited as follows:

  1. Añjali,
  2. Kapota,
  3. Karkaṭa,
  4. Svastika,
  5. Ḍola,
  6. Puṣpapuṭa,
  7. Utsaṅga,
  8. Śivaliṅga,
  9. Kaṭaka-vardhana,
  10. Kartarī-svastika,
  11. Śakaṭa,
  12. Śaṅkha,
  13. Cakra,
  14. Sampuṭa,
  15. Pāśa,
  16. Kīlaka,
  17. Matsya,
  18. Kūrma,
  19. Varāha,
  20. Garuḍa,
  21. Nāga-bandha,
  22. Khaṭvā,
  23. Bheruṇḍa,
  24. Avahittha.

According to another book: when two Single Hands are combined, that is a Combined Hand. Even though the origin and meaning remain the same, the patron deity always differs.

According to another book the combined hands are as follows (Twenty-six hands):

  1. Avahittha,
  2. Gajadanta,
  3. Caturaśra,
  4. Tala-mukha,
  5. Svastika,
  6. Āviddha-vakra,
  7. Recita,
  8. Nitamba,
  9. Latā,
  10. Pakṣa-vañcita,
  11. Pakṣa-pradyota,
  12. Garuḍa-pakṣa,
  13. Niṣedha,
  14. Makara,
  15. Vardhamāna,
  16. Udvṛtta,
  17. Viprakīrna,
  18. Arāla-kaṭaka-mukha,
  19. Sūcyāsya,
  20. Ardha-recita,
  21. Keśa-bandha,
  22. Muṣṭi-svastika,
  23. Nalinī-padmakośa,
  24. Udveṣṭitāla-padma,
  25. Ulbaṇa,
  26. Lālita,

According to a different book, the Combined Hands are as follows (Twenty-seven hands):

  1. Viprakīrṇa,
  2. Tala-mukha,
  3. Gajadanta,
  4. Sūci-viddha,
  5. Pallava,
  6. Nitamba, Keśa-bandha,
  7. Latā,
  8. Dvirada,
  9. Uddhṛta,
  10. Samyama,
  11. Mudrā,
  12. Aja-mukha,
  13. Ardha-mukula,
  14. Recita,
  15. Kuśala,
  16. Pakṣa-vañcita,
  17. Tilaka,
  18. Utthāna-vañcita,
  19. Vardhamāna,
  20. Jñāna,
  21. Rekhā,
  22. Vaiṣṇava,
  23. Brahmokta-śukatuṇḍa,
  24. Khaṇḍa-catura,
  25. Ardha-catura,
  26. Līna-mudrā.
Natyashastra book cover
context information

Natyashastra (नाट्यशास्त्र, nāṭyaśāstra) refers to both the ancient Indian tradition (shastra) of performing arts, (natya—theatrics, drama, dance, music), as well as the name of a Sanskrit work dealing with these subjects. It also teaches the rules for composing Dramatic plays (nataka), construction and performance of Theater, and Poetic works (kavya).

Discover the meaning of samyutta-hastani in the context of Natyashastra from relevant books on Exotic India

See also (Relevant definitions)

Relevant text

Let's grow together!

I humbly request your help to keep doing what I do best: provide the world with unbiased sources, definitions and images. Your donation direclty influences the quality and quantity of knowledge, wisdom and spiritual insight the world is exposed to.

Let's make the world a better place together!

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: