Sadharanabhumi, Sadharana-bhumi, Sādhāraṇabhūmi: 1 definition



Sadharanabhumi means something in Buddhism, Pali. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Buddhism

Mahayana (major branch of Buddhism)

[«previous next»] — Sadharanabhumi in Mahayana glossary
Source: Wisdom Library: Maha Prajnaparamita Sastra

Sādhāraṇabhūmi (साधारणभूमि):—The ten grounds shared (sādhāraṇabhūmi) by adepts of the three Vehicles.

Here it is no longer a matter of the grounds reserved for bodhisattvas alone but of four groups of grounds occupied by the śrāvakas, the pratyekabuddhas, the bodhisattvas and the Buddhas, respectively. The list was elaborated in the Prajñā school and presents some similarities with that of the ten bodhisattva-vyavasthānas mentioned above.

  1. Śuklavidarśanā (dkar po rnam par mthoṅ naḥi sa, tsing kouan); ground pf clear seeing. –
    Variant a): Śuṣkavidarśanā (kan houei): level of dry seeing, i.e., not moistened by absorption.
    Variant b) (probably faulty reading): śuṣka for śukla.
  2. Gotra (rigs kyi sa, sing or tchong sing); ground of the spiritual lineage.
  3. Aṣṭamaka (brgyad paḥi sa, pa jen or ti pa): ground of the eighth saint or of the aspirant srotaāpanna.
  4. Darśana (mthoṅ baḥi sa, kien or kiu kien): ground of seeing or of srotaāpanna.
  5. Tanū (bsrab paḥi sa, po): ground of the reduction of the passions or of the sakṛdāgāmin.
  6. Vītarāga (ḥdod chags daṅ bral baḥi sa, li yu): ground of the saint freed from the passions or of the anāgāmin.
  7. Kṛtāvi (byas pa bsraṅ baḥi sa, yi tso or yi pan): ground of the saint who has done what had to be done or of the arhat.
  8. Pratyekabuddha: ground(s) of the solitary Buddhas.
  9. Bodhisattva: the (ten) grounds of the bodhisattva.
  10. Buddha: the ground of the Buddhas.

In this list, only the śrāvaka grounds, seven in number, are itemized.

Having established this list reserved for solitary bodhisattvas (daśabhūmi or bodhisattabhūmi), they thought to draw up a vaster one, this time including all the adepts of the Holy Dharma, śrāvakas, pratyekabuddhas, bodhisattvas and Buddhas: this is the list called the list of shared grounds (sādhāraṇabhūmi).

Mahayana book cover
context information

Mahayana (महायान, mahāyāna) is a major branch of Buddhism focusing on the path of a Bodhisattva (spiritual aspirants/ enlightened beings). Extant literature is vast and primarely composed in the Sanskrit language. There are many sūtras of which some of the earliest are the various Prajñāpāramitā sūtras.

Discover the meaning of sadharanabhumi in the context of Mahayana from relevant books on Exotic India

See also (Relevant definitions)

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: