Rauravagama, Raurava-agama, Rauravāgama: 3 definitions


Rauravagama means something in Hinduism, Sanskrit. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Hinduism

Shaivism (Shaiva philosophy)

[«previous next»] — Rauravagama in Shaivism glossary
Source: Wisdom Library: Śaivism

Rauravāgama (रौरवागम):—One of the 28 Śaivāgamas. This is one of the five Āgamas that were proclaimed to the world by the Tatpuruṣa face (of Śiva).

Source: Google Books: Making Sense of Tantric Buddhism (Shaivism)

Rauravāgama (रौरवागम).—The third chapter of the Rauravasūtrasaṃgraha relates the origins of the Rauravāgama, the “descent of the Tantra into the human world” (tantrāvatāra), in which the “supreme guru of the world” Ananteśa reveals the scripture in the form of a smokeless blaze of light to Śrīkaṇṭha (Śiva), who transmits it to the goddess Devī, and so on to Nandīśa, Brahmā, and ultimately to various sages and ordinary human disciples.

Source: Shodhganga: Iconographical representations of Śiva

Rauravāgama (रौरवागम) or simply Raurava refers to one of the twenty-eight Siddhāntāgama: a classification of the Śaiva division of Śaivāgamas. The Śaivāgamas represent the wisdom that has come down from lord Śiva, received by Pārvatī and accepted by Viṣṇu. The Śaivāgamas are divided into four groups viz. Śaiva, Pāśupata, Soma and Lākula. Śaiva is further divided in to Dakṣiṇa, Vāma and Siddhānta (e.g., raurava-āgama).

According to the pratisaṃhitā theory of Āgama origin and relationship (sambandha), it was Sadāśiva who first imparted the Rauravāgama through parasambandha to Brāhmaṇeśa, who then imparted it through mahānsambandha to Nandikeśa who then, through divya-sambandha, transmitted it to the Devas who, through divyādivya-sambandha, transmitted it to the Ṛṣis who finally, through adivya-sambandha, revealed the Rauravāgama to human beings (Manuṣya). (also see Anantaśambhu’s commentary on the Siddhāntasārāvali of Trilocanaśivācārya)

The Upāgamas for Rauravāgama are: Kālaghna, Kalātīta, Raurava, Rauravottara, Mahākālamata and Aindra. The purpose of revealing Upāgamas is to explain more elaborately than that of Mūlāgamas and to include any new idea if not dealt in Mūlāgamas.

Shaivism book cover
context information

Shaiva (शैव, śaiva) or Shaivism (śaivism) represents a tradition of Hinduism worshiping Shiva as the supreme being. Closely related to Shaktism, Shaiva literature includes a range of scriptures, including Tantras, while the root of this tradition may be traced back to the ancient Vedas.

Discover the meaning of rauravagama in the context of Shaivism from relevant books on Exotic India

See also (Relevant definitions)

Relevant text

Related products

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: