Rakini, aka: Rākiṇī; 1 Definition(s)


Rakini means something in Hinduism, Sanskrit. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Hinduism

Shaivism (Shaiva philosophy)

Rākiṇī (राकिणी):—Name of one of the eight female deities (yoginīs) of the Yoginīcakra, according to tantric sources such as the Śrīmatottara-tantra and the Gorakṣa-saṃhita. In other tantric sources, such as the kubjikāmata-tantra, she is identified as Rāmaṇī. She is also mentioned as a similarly positioned yoginī in the Kulārṇava-tantra and the Ṣaṭcakranirūpaṇa where she forms part of a group of six or seven such female deities. The male counterpart of Rākiṇī is the Bhairava named Ruru, who should be visualized mentally.

Rākiṇī (and the other eight yoginīs) arise forth from the body of the Bhairava named Saṃvarta, who is described as a furious deity (mahāraudra) with various fearsome characteristics. During worship, She is to be placed in a petal facing south-east. Rākiṇī has the head of a owl (ulūka) according to the Śrīmatottara-tantra and the Kulārṇava-tantra. She has eight arms and is addicted to blood (rudhira) and fermented liquor. Her colour is red (rakta).

Source: Wisdom Library: Kubjikāmata-tantra
Shaivism book cover
context information

Shaiva (शैव, śaiva) or Shaivism (śaivism) represents a tradition of Hinduism worshiping Shiva as the supreme being. Closely related to Shaktism, Shaiva literature includes a range of scriptures, including Tantras, while the root of this tradition may be traced back to the ancient Vedas.

Discover the meaning of rakini in the context of Shaivism from relevant books on Exotic India

Relevant definitions

Search found 2 related definition(s) that might help you understand this better. Below you will find the 15 most relevant articles:

Ramaṇī (रमणी).—1) A lovely young woman; लता रम्या सेयं भ्रमरकुलरम्या न रमणी (latā ramyā seyaṃ b...
Yoginīcakra (योगिनीचक्र):—One of the five internal mystic centres (pañcacakra), accord...

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: