Punyoda, Puṇyodā: 4 definitions


Punyoda means something in Hinduism, Sanskrit. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Hinduism

Purana and Itihasa (epic history)

Source: Wisdom Library: Varāha-purāṇa

1) Puṇyodā (पुण्योदा) is the name of a river mentioned in a list of rivers, flowing from the five great mountains (Śailavarṇa, Mālākhya, Korajaska, Triparṇa and Nīla), according to the Varāhapurāṇa chapter 82. Those who drink the waters of these rivers live for ten thousand years and become devotees of Rudra and Umā.

2) Puṇyodā (पुण्योदा).—Name of a river (nadī) situated near the seven great mountains on the western side of mount Naiṣadha, according to the Varāhapurāṇa chapter 83. These settlements consume the water flowing from these seven great mountains (Viśākha, Kambala, Jayanta, Kṛṣṇa, Harita, Aśoka and Vardhamāna). Niṣadha (Naiṣadha) is one of the seven mountains located in Jambūdvīpa, ruled over by Āgnīdhra, a grandson of Svāyambhuva Manu, who was created by Brahmā, who was in turn created by Nārāyaṇa, the unknowable all-pervasive primordial being.

One of the five mountains situated near Bhadrāśva, according to the Varāhapurāṇa chapter 82. The Varāhapurāṇa is categorised as a Mahāpurāṇa, a type of Sanskrit literature preserving ancient India’s vast cultural history, instructions for religious ceremonies and a whole range of topics concerning the various arts and sciences. The original text is said to have been composed of 24,000 metrical verses, possibly originating from before the 10th century.

Source: Google Books: Cultural History from the Vāyu Purāna

Puṇyodā (पुण्योदा)—Name of a river—Soma is the fountain-head of all the waters of the sky. the river Puṇyodā has its source here. With its course guided by the wind it swiftly circumambulates the mountain Meru before it falls on its four northern peaks. From the sky to the Meru its course is of sixty yojanas. From the Meru it has four courses flowing towards the four directions.

The eastern course circumvents the Mandara mountain and joins the Aruṇoda lake when it is called Ambaranadī. Then it falls on the Śītānta mountain, a habitat of the Siddhas. Here the course is calleds Sītā. Then flowing along the Mukuñja, Sumañjasa, Mālyavat, Vaikaṅka, Maṇiparvata and Ṛṣabha mountains it falls on the Jaṭhara mountain whence flowing along the Devakūṭa mountain it waters the Bhadrāśva dvīpa and joins the eastern sea.

The southern course crosses the Gandhamādana mountain and waters the Gandhamādana forest. Here this course is called Alakanandā which later joins the northern Mānasa lake. It then flows along the Triśikhara, Kaliṅga, Rucaka, Niṣadha, Tāmrābha, Śvetodara, Sumūla, Vasudhāra, Hemakūṭa, Devaśṛṅga, Piśācaka, Pañcakūṭa and Kailāsa mountains. Then it falls on the Himavat mountain. From the Himavat it pours into the southern sea. This river is supported by the god Śaṃkara and that is why it is considered as the holy river Gaṅgā.

Source: Kashmiri Overseas Association: The Nīlamata Purāṇa

From the Nīlamata-purāṇa 1232-1236:

“He (Rama) practised hard penance after arrirving at Pathesvara and thereafter arrived as the river Punyoda which had originated from the Brahmasara. When the high-minded Rama performed austerities there, the river became famous on the earth, by the name Ramahrada. Having performed austerities there, for a year, Rama went for penance to the foot of Grhrakuta.

Not far from the place where his hands had attained purity and not far from the Punyoda, there is the abode of the high-souled Naga king Ananta. (Rama) performed hard penance there and erected the image of the god Sarngi.”

Source: Cologne Digital Sanskrit Dictionaries: The Purana Index

1a) Puṇyodā (पुण्योदा).—A river aerial river, springing from the moon; circumambulates Meru and flows in four directions; one goes round the Mandara and the Caitraratha hills and enters the Aruṇoda lake.*

  • * Vāyu-purāṇa 42. 3, 8, 15.

1b) A R. of the Ketumālā.*

  • * Vāyu-purāṇa 44. 19.
Purana book cover
context information

The Purana (पुराण, purāṇas) refers to Sanskrit literature preserving ancient India’s vast cultural history, including historical legends, religious ceremonies, various arts and sciences. The eighteen mahapuranas total over 400,000 shlokas (metrical couplets) and date to at least several centuries BCE.

Discover the meaning of punyoda in the context of Purana from relevant books on Exotic India

See also (Relevant definitions)

Relevant text

Help me keep this site Ad-Free

For over a decade, this site has never bothered you with ads. I want to keep it that way. But I humbly request your help to keep doing what I do best: provide the world with unbiased truth, wisdom and knowledge.

Let's make the world a better place together!

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: