Pancashakti, Pañcaśakti, Panca-shakti: 4 definitions


Pancashakti means something in Hinduism, Sanskrit. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

The Sanskrit term Pañcaśakti can be transliterated into English as Pancasakti or Pancashakti, using the IAST transliteration scheme (?).

Alternative spellings of this word include Panchashakti.

In Hinduism

Vaishnavism (Vaishava dharma)

[«previous next»] — Pancashakti in Vaishnavism glossary
Source: Vidyabalaji's Blog: Bhagavad Gita

Pañcaśakti (पञ्चशक्ति) refers to the composition of the Avatāras of the Supreme Lord, according to Vedanta Desikar in Tatparya Chandrika on Bhagwan’s Avatara Rahasyam (Bhagavad Gita Chapter 4—Slokas 5 to 8) .—Avatāras of the Supreme Lord are not illusionary, but real. (“avatārasya satyatvaṃ”) In his avatāras, His svabhāva guṇas are not abandoned. They are very much part of Him even in these manuṣya avatāras. He is unborn (“ajahatsvasvabhāvatā”). During these avatāras, His body is not made up of pañca-bhūtas like the beings. It is made up of śuddha-satva, free from rajas and tamas. (“śuddhasattvamayatvaṃ”).

He is made up of Pañcaśakti:—

  1. Parameṣṭi,
  2. Pumān,
  3. Nivṛtta,
  4. Viśva,
  5. Sarva.

His avatāras are not associated with the bondage of karma like the beings. But originate because of His own Śaṅkalpa Śakti. (“svecchāmātra nidānatā”). Avatāras takes place when adharma grows and there is a danger to dharma (“dharmaglānau samudayaḥ”). [...]

Vaishnavism book cover
context information

Vaishnava (वैष्णव, vaiṣṇava) or vaishnavism (vaiṣṇavism) represents a tradition of Hinduism worshipping Vishnu as the supreme Lord. Similar to the Shaktism and Shaivism traditions, Vaishnavism also developed as an individual movement, famous for its exposition of the dashavatara (‘ten avatars of Vishnu’).

Discover the meaning of pancashakti or pancasakti in the context of Vaishnavism from relevant books on Exotic India

Shaivism (Shaiva philosophy)

[«previous next»] — Pancashakti in Shaivism glossary
Source: Shodhganga: Cidgagana candrika a study

Pañcaśakti (पञ्चशक्ति) or Śaktipañcaka refers to the five feminine aspects, according to the Cidgaganacandrika verse 47 (cf. Kramaprakāśikā, Yoginīhṛdaya, Lalitāsahasranāma).—The five functions Pramāṇa etc., illumine the insentient pañcamahābhūtas with their respective characteristics: Śabda, Sparśa, Rūpa, Rasa, Gandha. Akula Śiva is not tainted with any activity. All [the following five functions in the manifestation of universe, pertain only to Śakti]:—Sṛṣṭi, Sthiti, Saṃhāra, Tirodhāna and Anugraha. The [following male aspects (as per Agamas) form the Siddha-pañcakas]: Brahma, Viṣṇu, Rudra, Īśvara and Sadāśiva.

The feminine aspects are called Śaktipañcaka viz.

  1. Bhārati,
  2. Viśvambārā [Viśvāmbarā?],
  3. Raudri,
  4. Īśvari and
  5. Sadāśivā.

These five Śaktis through their five Siddha forms, execute the aforesaid five functions.

Source: Sanskrit & Trika Shaivism: Trika Glossary - Non-dual Shaivism of Kashmir

Pañcaśakti (पञ्चशक्ति) or Śaktipañcaka refers to the five main powers of Śiva:

  1. Cit (Consciousness),
  2. Ānanda (Bliss),
  3. Icchā (Will),
  4. Jñāna (Knowledge) and
  5. Kriyā (Action).

The word “śakti” or “power” may also be added to those five terms to bring about five new ones:

  1. Cicchakti (Power of Consciousness),
  2. Ānandaśakti (Power of Bliss),
  3. Icchāśakti (Power of Will),
  4. Jñānaśakti (Power of Knowledge) and
  5. Kriyāśakti (Power of Action).
Shaivism book cover
context information

Shaiva (शैव, śaiva) or Shaivism (śaivism) represents a tradition of Hinduism worshiping Shiva as the supreme being. Closely related to Shaktism, Shaiva literature includes a range of scriptures, including Tantras, while the root of this tradition may be traced back to the ancient Vedas.

Discover the meaning of pancashakti or pancasakti in the context of Shaivism from relevant books on Exotic India

Shaktism (Shakta philosophy)

[«previous next»] — Pancashakti in Shaktism glossary
Source: Google Books: Manthanabhairavatantram

Pañcaśakti (पञ्चशक्ति) [=Śaktipañcaka?] refers to the “group of five energies” (i.e., Icchā, Jñāna, Kriyā, Parākuṇḍalinī, Mātṛkā), according to the Ciñcinīmatasārasamuccaya verse 4.24-27.—Accordingly, “Next I will explain something else, namely, Śākta, Śāmbhava and Āṇava. O mistress of the god of the gods, (I will explain) the characteristic feature (of each) which, O beloved, is the great dawning of knowledge. The group of five energies [i.e., mahā-śaktipañcaka] is considered to be will, knowledge, action, supreme Kuṇḍalinī and Mātṛkā, which is the fifth. (The characterizing feature) of the will is (that from it) originates the expansion (of emanation). Knowledge is the perception (of it) there. (The energy of) action (functions) in what should be done and what should not. Kuṇḍalinī is the awakening of the Self. Mātṛkā measures out (mīyate) the universe. The characteristic feature of power is (thus) fivefold”.

Shaktism book cover
context information

Shakta (शाक्त, śākta) or Shaktism (śāktism) represents a tradition of Hinduism where the Goddess (Devi) is revered and worshipped. Shakta literature includes a range of scriptures, including various Agamas and Tantras, although its roots may be traced back to the Vedas.

Discover the meaning of pancashakti or pancasakti in the context of Shaktism from relevant books on Exotic India

See also (Relevant definitions)

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: