Pancagni, aka: Pañcāgni, Pancan-agni; 5 Definition(s)


Pancagni means something in Hinduism, Sanskrit, Marathi. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

Alternative spellings of this word include Panchagni.

In Hinduism


Pancagni in Purana glossary... « previous · [P] · next »

Pañcāgni (पञ्चाग्नि).—Rohiṇī, a daughter and Soma, a son, were born to Niśā the third wife of Manu, an Agni. Besides these they got five sons in the form of Agni (fire) and these five are called Pañcāgnis. They are Vaiśvānara, Viśvapati, Sannihita, Kapila and Agraṇī.

Source: Puranic Encyclopaedia

Pañcāgni (पञ्चाग्नि).—Five fires eligible for Pārvaṇa śrāddha;1 performance of penance by Yayāti for a year in the midst of five fires;2 created by Agniśarman from his face. These are Dakṣināgni, Gārhapatya, Āhavanīya, Sabhya, and Āvasathya.3

  • 1) Vāyu-purāṇa 83. 53; Matsya-purāṇa 16. 7.
  • 2) Ib. 35. 16.
  • 3) Vāyu-purāṇa 106. 41. 2.
Source: Cologne Digital Sanskrit Dictionaries: The Purana Index
Purana book cover
context information

The Purana (पुराण, purāṇas) refers to Sanskrit literature preserving ancient India’s vast cultural history, including historical legends, religious ceremonies, various arts and sciences. The eighteen mahapuranas total over 400,000 shlokas (metrical couplets) and date to at least several centuries BCE.

Discover the meaning of pancagni in the context of Purana from relevant books on Exotic India

Languages of India and abroad

Marathi-English dictionary

Pancagni in Marathi glossary... « previous · [P] · next »

pañcāgni (पंचाग्नि).—m pl (S) The five fires collectively amidst which a devotee performs penance or devotion. Vide infra. 2 The five mystic fires of the body. 3 m A Brahman of the gṛhastha-order maintaining five fires.

Source: DDSA: The Molesworth Marathi and English Dictionary

pañcāgni (पंचाग्नि).—m The five fires collectively amidst which a devotee performs penance or devotion.

Source: DDSA: The Aryabhusan school dictionary, Marathi-English
context information

Marathi is an Indo-European language having over 70 million native speakers people in (predominantly) Maharashtra India. Marathi, like many other Indo-Aryan languages, evolved from early forms of Prakrit, which itself is a subset of Sanskrit, one of the most ancient languages of the world.

Discover the meaning of pancagni in the context of Marathi from relevant books on Exotic India

Sanskrit-English dictionary

Pancagni in Sanskrit glossary... « previous · [P] · next »

Pañcāgni (पञ्चाग्नि).—

1) an aggregate of five sacred fires; i. e. (anvāhāryapacana or dakṣiṇa, gārhapatya, āhavanīya, sabhya, and āva- sathya).

2) a householder who maintains the five sacred fires; पञ्चाग्नयो धृतव्रताः (pañcāgnayo dhṛtavratāḥ) Māl.1; Ms.3.185.

3) five mystic fires supposed to exist in the body; तेजो ह्यग्निस्तथा क्रोधश्चक्षुरूष्मा तथैव च । अग्निर्जरयते यच्च पञ्चाग्नेयाः शरीरिणः (tejo hyagnistathā krodhaścakṣurūṣmā tathaiva ca | agnirjarayate yacca pañcāgneyāḥ śarīriṇaḥ) || Mb.12.184.21.

4) one who is acquainted with the doctrine of these fires. °साधनम् (sādhanam) four fires on four sides and the sun above the head. This is a form of penance.

Derivable forms: pañcāgniḥ (पञ्चाग्निः).

Pañcāgni is a Sanskrit compound consisting of the terms pañcan and agni (अग्नि).

Source: DDSA: The practical Sanskrit-English dictionary
context information

Sanskrit, also spelled संस्कृतम् (saṃskṛtam), is an ancient language of India commonly seen as the grandmother of the Indo-European language family. Closely allied with Prakrit and Pali, Sanskrit is more exhaustive in both grammar and terms and has the most extensive collection of literature in the world, greatly surpassing its sister-languages Greek and Latin.

Discover the meaning of pancagni in the context of Sanskrit from relevant books on Exotic India

Relevant definitions

Search found 1323 related definition(s) that might help you understand this better. Below you will find the 15 most relevant articles:

Agni (अग्नि) or Agnimudrā is the name of a mudrā described in the Īśvarasaṃhitā 64-65.—Accordin...
Agniśikha (अग्निशिख).—Father of Vararuci. He is also known by the name Somadatta. (Kathāsaritsā...
Pañcaśīla (पञ्चशील) refers to “five rules” within Buddhism ethical conduct.—These moral instruc...
Jaṭharāgni (जठराग्नि).—the digestive fire of the stomach, the gastric fluid; पञ्चाग्नेस्तस्य चा...
Agnihotra (अग्निहोत्र).—This is a sacrifice offered to Agnideva. This has two parts, nitya and ...
Pañcendriya (पञ्चेन्द्रिय) refers to “five sensed living beings” and represents one of the five...
Pañcagavya (पञ्चगव्य) is the name of a formula used in ancient Indian agriculture (kṛṣi).—Pañca...
Pañcavaktrā (पञ्चवक्त्रा).—A soldier who fought bravely against the asuras on the side of Subra...
Pañcaśikha (पञ्चशिख).—A sage of ancient times. The Purāṇas give the following details about him...
Pañcabhūta (पञ्चभूत) or Pañcabhūtatantra refers to one of the twenty-eight Gāruḍatantras, belon...
Āgniveśya (आग्निवेश्य).—(AGNIVEŚA). An ancient sage who received an armour and the sacred mantr...
Agnivarṇa (अग्निवर्ण).—a. [agneriva varṇo yasya] of the colour of fire; hot; fiery; सुरां पीत्व...
Agnikumāra (अग्निकुमार).—An epithet of Lord Subrahmaṇya.
Dakṣiṇāgni (दक्षिणाग्नि).—A strong wind born from the fire Pāñcajanya. (Mahābhārata Vana Parva,...
Pañcamahāyajña (पञ्चमहायज्ञ).—For a Gṛhasthāśramī (householder) the following five apparatuses ...

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: