Navanaga, Navanāga, Nava-naga: 6 definitions


Navanaga means something in Hinduism, Sanskrit, the history of ancient India, Marathi. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Hinduism

Natyashastra (theatrics and dramaturgy)

Source: Google Books: Music Therapy

Navanāga (नवनाग).—In the lineage of the historical kings of the vākātaka, we find the name Nandin /nāga as suffix to many royal persons. The grandson of Śivadūta (Nandi) is called a Navanāga, for example, the new nāga or the lineage of the 9 nāgas, and he founded the new navanāga dynasty from the old geneology tree.

Natyashastra book cover
context information

Natyashastra (नाट्यशास्त्र, nāṭyaśāstra) refers to both the ancient Indian tradition (shastra) of performing arts, (natya—theatrics, drama, dance, music), as well as the name of a Sanskrit work dealing with these subjects. It also teaches the rules for composing Dramatic plays (nataka), construction and performance of Theater, and Poetic works (kavya).

Discover the meaning of navanaga in the context of Natyashastra from relevant books on Exotic India

General definition (in Hinduism)

Source: Google Books: Costumes and Ornaments as Depicted in the Sculptures of Gwalior Museum

Navanāga (नवनाग).—“The nine Nāgas will reign in Padmāvati, Kāntipuri, and Mathurā; and the Guptas of Magadhā along the Ganges to Prayāga.” (Viṣṇu-purāṇa 4.24) The nine Nāgas might be thought to mean the same as the descendants of Śeṣa Nāga, but the Vāyu has another series here, analogous to that of the text: ‘The nine Nāka kings will possess the city Campāvatī, and the seven Nāgas (?) the pleasant city Mathura. Princes of the Gupta race will possess all these countries, the banks of the Ganges to Prayāga and Sāketa and Magadhā.’

India history and geography

Source: What is India: Inscriptions of the Early Gupta Kings

Navanāga (नवनाग).—The Viṣṇu-Purāṇa speaks of Nava-nāgāḥ as ruling over Padmāvatī, Kāntipurī and Mathurā. As these are only three and not nine cities, nava Nāgas cannot signify nine Nāgas but rather new Nāgas, the old Nāgas being those mentioned earlier by the Purāṇas in connection with Vidiśā. And, as a matter of fact, it was a confederation of three Nāga kings that opposed the accession of Samudragupta to the throne. One of them, namely, Nāgasena certainly reigned at Padmāvatī, another, Achyutanandin, most probably at Mathurā, and the third, Gaṇapatināga at Dhārā which may be another name of Kāntipurī.

India history book cover
context information

The history of India traces the identification of countries, villages, towns and other regions of India, as well as mythology, zoology, royal dynasties, rulers, tribes, local festivities and traditions and regional languages. Ancient India enjoyed religious freedom and encourages the path of Dharma, a concept common to Buddhism, Hinduism, and Jainism.

Discover the meaning of navanaga in the context of India history from relevant books on Exotic India

Languages of India and abroad

Marathi-English dictionary

Source: DDSA: The Molesworth Marathi and English Dictionary

navanāga (नवनाग).—m pl (S) The nine nāga or great serpents of legendary history; viz. ananta, vāsukī, śēṣa, padmanābha, kambala, śaṅkhapāla, dhṛtarāṣṭra, takṣaka, kālīya.

Source: DDSA: The Aryabhusan school dictionary, Marathi-English

navanāga (नवनाग).—m pl The nine nāga or great ser- pents of legendary history.

context information

Marathi is an Indo-European language having over 70 million native speakers people in (predominantly) Maharashtra India. Marathi, like many other Indo-Aryan languages, evolved from early forms of Prakrit, which itself is a subset of Sanskrit, one of the most ancient languages of the world.

Discover the meaning of navanaga in the context of Marathi from relevant books on Exotic India

Kannada-English dictionary

Source: Alar: Kannada-English corpus

Navanāga (ನವನಾಗ):—[noun] (myth.) (pl.) the nine serpents ( ಅನಂತ, ವಾಸುಕಿ, ಶೇಷ, ಪದ್ಮನಾಭ, ಕಂಬಲ, ಶಂಖಪಾಲ, ಧೃತರಾಷ್ಟ್ರ, ತಕ್ಷಕ [anamta, vasuki, shesha, padmanabha, kambala, shamkhapala, dhritarashtra, takshaka] and ಕಾಲಿಯ [kaliya]).

context information

Kannada is a Dravidian language (as opposed to the Indo-European language family) mainly spoken in the southwestern region of India.

Discover the meaning of navanaga in the context of Kannada from relevant books on Exotic India

See also (Relevant definitions)

Relevant text

Help me keep this site Ad-Free

For over a decade, this site has never bothered you with ads. I want to keep it that way. But I humbly request your help to keep doing what I do best: provide the world with unbiased truth, wisdom and knowledge.

Let's make the world a better place together!

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: