Navagraha, aka: Nava-graha, Navagrahā, Navan-graha; 6 Definition(s)


Navagraha means something in Hinduism, Sanskrit, Marathi. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Hinduism

Shilpashastra (iconography)

Navagraha (नवग्रह) refers to the “nine planetary divinities”, images of which are found scattered within Hindu temples.—T. A. Gopinath Rao points out the specificities of each temple by saying that each temple is filled with numerous images of gods, goddesses, parivāra-devatas (gods related in a family), devas (attendants to the gods), śālagrāmās (cakra–an ammonite shell), bānaliṅgās (egg-shaped pebbles), yantras (mystic and magical diagrams engraved upon metallic plates), navagrahas (the nine planetary divinities), certain divine animals and birds, certain holy rivers, tanks, trees and sepulchers of saints.

The nine planets are:—

  1. Sūrya (Sun),
  2. Candra (Moon),
  3. Aṅgāraka (Mars),
  4. Budha (Mercury),
  5. Bṛhaspatī (Jupiter),
  6. Śukra (Venus),
  7. Śani or Śanaiścara (Saturn),
  8. Rāhu (dragon’s head),
  9. Ketu (dragon’s tail).

Few planets are discussed with respect to the hastas in Bharatanatyam and iconography.

Source: Shodhganga: The significance of the mūla-beras (śilpa)
Shilpashastra book cover
context information

Shilpashastra (शिल्पशास्त्र, śilpaśāstra) represents the ancient Indian science (shastra) of creative arts (shilpa) such as sculpture, iconography and painting. Closely related to Vastushastra (architecture), they often share the same literature.

Discover the meaning of navagraha in the context of Shilpashastra from relevant books on Exotic India

Natyashastra (theatrics and dramaturgy)

Hands that indicate the Nine Planets (nava-graha):

  1. Sūrya,
  2. Candra,
  3. Aṅgārakha,
  4. Budha,
  5. Bṛhaspati,
  6. Śukra,
  7. Śanaiscara,
  8. Rahu,
  9. Ketu;
Source: The mirror of gesture (abhinaya-darpana)
Natyashastra book cover
context information

Natyashastra (नाट्यशास्त्र, nāṭyaśāstra) refers to both the ancient Indian tradition (śāstra) of performing arts, (nāṭya, e.g., theatrics, drama, dance, music), as well as the name of a Sanskrit work dealing with these subjects. It also teaches the rules for composing dramatic plays (nataka) and poetic works (kavya).

Discover the meaning of navagraha in the context of Natyashastra from relevant books on Exotic India

General definition (in Hinduism)

Navagraha in Hinduism glossary... « previous · [N] · next »

In Indian Astrology, the nine planets are :

  1. Surya the sun,
  2. Chandra the moon,
  3. Budha (Mercury),
  4. Shukra (Venus),
  5. Brihaspati (Jupiter) also known as Guru,
  6. Angaraka (Mars),
  7. Shani (Saturn),
  8. Rahu
  9. and Ketu.

Parvati, in her role as Shakti, is said to the overlord of these planets. According to the Puranas, the planets control all aspects of our lives. Even the Gods themselves are not exempt from their influence.

Source: Apam Napat: Indian Mythology

Languages of India and abroad

Marathi-English dictionary

Navagraha in Marathi glossary... « previous · [N] · next »

navagraha (नवग्रह).—m (S) The nine planets; viz. the sun, moon, mercury, venus, mars, jupiter, saturn, rahu, ketu. 2 Revilingly or irrisively. A term for an association or band of persons; answering to Crew, pack, knot, gang.

Source: DDSA: The Molesworth Marathi and English Dictionary

navagraha (नवग्रह).—m The nine planets. A term for an association or band of persons; answering to Crew, pack, knot, gang.

Source: DDSA: The Aryabhusan school dictionary, Marathi-English
context information

Marathi is an Indo-European language having over 70 million native speakers people in (predominantly) Maharashtra India. Marathi, like many other Indo-Aryan languages, evolved from early forms of Prakrit, which itself is a subset of Sanskrit, one of the most ancient languages of the world.

Discover the meaning of navagraha in the context of Marathi from relevant books on Exotic India

Sanskrit-English dictionary

Navagraha in Sanskrit glossary... « previous · [N] · next »

Navagrahā (नवग्रहा).—m. (pl.) the nine planets. (the sun, the moon, 5 planets, rāhu and ketu; see under graha. -gva nine-fold, consisting of nine. -caṇḍikā f. the nine caṇḍikās (śailaputrī, brahmacāriṇī, candraghaṇṭā, kūṣmāṇḍā, skanda- mātā, kātyāyanī, mahāgaurī, kālarātri, siddhidā); Chaṇḍī Pāṭha.

Derivable forms: navagrahāḥ (नवग्रहाः).

Navagrahā is a Sanskrit compound consisting of the terms navan and grahā (ग्रहा).

Source: DDSA: The practical Sanskrit-English dictionary
context information

Sanskrit, also spelled संस्कृतम् (saṃskṛtam), is an ancient language of India commonly seen as the grandmother of the Indo-European language family. Closely allied with Prakrit and Pali, Sanskrit is more exhaustive in both grammar and terms and has the most extensive collection of literature in the world, greatly surpassing its sister-languages Greek and Latin.

Discover the meaning of navagraha in the context of Sanskrit from relevant books on Exotic India

Relevant definitions

Search found 714 related definition(s) that might help you understand this better. Below you will find the 15 most relevant articles:

Nava (नव).—mfn. (-vaḥ-vā-vaṃ) New. m. (-vaḥ) Praise, panegyric, celebration. E. nu to praise, &...
Graha (ग्रह).—m. (-haḥ) 1. Taking, whether by seizure or acceptance. 2. An eclipse or seizure o...
Navanīta (नवनीत).—n. (-taṃ) Fresh butter. E. nava new, and nīta procured from milk, &c.)
Navasāra (नवसार).—a kind of Āyurvedic decoction; नवसारो भवेच्छुद्धश्चूर्णतोयैर्विपाचितः । दोलाय...
Navāṅga (नवाङ्ग) refers the nine classifications of Buddhist scriptures, according to the 2nd c...
Navarātri.—(EI 11, 25; CII 4), the festival of Durgā; Āśvina-sudi 1 to 9. Note: navarātri is de...
Punarnava (पुनर्नव).—m. (-vaḥ) A finger-nail. f. (-vā) Hog weed. (Boerhavia diffusa alata.) E. ...
Nava-ratna.—(BL), the nine gems at Vikramāditya's court. Note: nava-ratna is defined in the “In...
Navaratra (नवरत्र).—n. (-traṃ) 1. Nine precious gems, or a pearl, ruby, topaz, diamond, emerald...
Pāṇigrāha (पाणिग्राह).—m. (-haḥ) 1. Laying hold of the hand. 2. Marriage. E. pāṇi, and grāha ta...
Aṅgagraha (अङ्गग्रह).—m. (-haḥ) Bodily pain. E. aṅga, and graha what siezes.
navanāga (नवनाग).—m pl The nine nāga or great ser- pents of legendary history.
Navadurgā (नवदुर्गा).—f. (-rgā) The nine forms of Durga. E. nava, and durgā the goddess.
Galagraha (गलग्रह).—m. (-haḥ) 1. A sauce of fish ground up with salt, pepper, Ghee, &c. 2. ...
Pāpagraha (पापग्रह).—m. (-haḥ) Any ill-omened aspect of the stars, as the conjunction of the su...

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: