Lokuttara Citta: 2 definitions


Lokuttara Citta means something in Buddhism, Pali. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Buddhism

Theravada (major branch of Buddhism)

[«previous next»] — Lokuttara Citta in Theravada glossary
Source: Journey to Nibbana: Patthana Dhama

Part of Cittas

There are 8 lokuttara cittas. They are

  • 4 magga cittas or path consciousness and
  • 4 phala cittas or fruition consciousness.

4 phala cittas are vipaka cittas or resultant consciousness. They each arise as a resultant citta due to their correspondent magga citta.

While 4 phala cittas are called vipaka cittas or to be exact lokuttara vipaka cittas, their correspondent magga cittas are called kusala cittas or lokuttara kusala cittas.

When lokuttara cittas arise in parallel with jhanas, there will be 40 lokuttara cittas because each lokuttara citta can arise in one of five jhana. As there are 8 lokuttara cittas, then there will be 40 lokuttara jhana cittas.

They are

  1. vitakka, vicara, piti, sukha, ekaggata sahitam pathamajjhana sotapatti magga citta
  2. vicara, piti, sukha, ekaggata sahitam dutiyajjhana sotapatti magga citta
  3. piti, sukha, ekaggata sahitam tatiyajjhana sotapatti magga citta
  4. sukha, ekaggata sahitam catutthajjhana sotapatti magga citta
  5. upekkha , ekaggata sahitam pancamajjhana sotapatti magga citta
  • As sotapatti magga citta has 5 jhana cittas,
    sotapatti phala citta also has 5 jhana cittas.
  • Sakadagami magga citta has 5 jhana cittas, and
    sakadagami phala citta has 5 jhana cittas.
  • Anagami magga citta has 5 jhana cittas, and
    anagami phala citta also has 5 jhana cittas.
  • By the same token, arahatta magga citta, and
    arahatta phala citta have 5 jhana cittas each.

Therefore, there are 40 lokuttara jhana cittas in total.

Lokuttara cittas are supramundane consciousness. Lokuttara is a Pali word made up of loka and uttara. Loka means worldly in connection with bhava. Lokuttara means greater than worldly things higher than worldly thing beyond worldly thing or supramundane.

These cittas are the highest cittas and they always excel other cittas because they deal with nibbana and they are associated with the highest panna or penetrative wisdom. They are anuttara cittas. That is no other citta excels them.

Source: Buddhist Information: A Survey of Paramattha Dhammas

There are eight types of lokuttara cittas (supra mundane consciousness) which realize the lokuttara Dhamma which is nibbana.

context information

Theravāda is a major branch of Buddhism having the the Pali canon (tipitaka) as their canonical literature, which includes the vinaya-pitaka (monastic rules), the sutta-pitaka (Buddhist sermons) and the abhidhamma-pitaka (philosophy and psychology).

Discover the meaning of lokuttara citta in the context of Theravada from relevant books on Exotic India

See also (Relevant definitions)

Relevant text

Let's grow together!

I humbly request your help to keep doing what I do best: provide the world with unbiased sources, definitions and images. Your donation direclty influences the quality and quantity of knowledge, wisdom and spiritual insight the world is exposed to.

Let's make the world a better place together!

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: