Wisdom Library Logo

Lāsyāṅga, aka: Lasya-anga; 1 Definition(s)

Lāsyāṅga means something in Hinduism Check out some of the following descriptions and leave a comment if you want to add your own contribution to this article:

1 Definition(s) from various sources:

Lāsyāṅga (लास्याङ्ग) is a Sanskrit technical term referring to the “elements of the gentle dance”, according to the Nāṭyaśāstra. The term is used throughout nāṭyaśāstra, which is the name of the ancient Indian tradition of performing arts, (e.g., theatrics, drama, dance, music), as well as the name of a Sanskrit work dealing with these subjects.

The ten lāsyāṅgas are:

  1. Geyapada,
  2. Sthitapāṭhya,
  3. Āsīna,
  4. Puṣpagaṇḍikā,
  5. Pracchedaka,
  6. Trimūḍhaka,
  7. Saindhavaka,
  8. Dvimūḍhaka,
  9. Uttamottamaka
  10. and Uktapratyukta .
Added: 20.Mar.2017 | Wisdom Library: Nāṭya-śāstra
Rating: -

Look for other relevant definitions:

Search found 312 related definition(s) that might help you understand this better. Below you will find the 15 most relevant articles:

1a) Aṅga (अङ्ग).—The father of Vena; knew the power of Kṛṣṇa's yoga.1 A son of Ulmuka (K...
The 12 Āgamas compiled in the Dvādasāṅgi are known as Aṅga literature.  The Navāṅga con...
Upāṅga (उपाङ्ग) is a Sanskrit technical term referring to “sub-moulds”, as oppos...
Lāsya (लास्य) is a gentle dance. The word lāsya is derived from the root ‘las’ m...
The 12 Āgamas compiled in the Dvādasāṅgi are known as Aṅga literature. Dvādasāṅga:&mdash...
Koṣṭhāṅga (कोष्ठाङ्ग) is a Sanskrit technical term referring to the “internal organs&r...
Pindapātik Anga
The 'practice of going for alms', is one of the 13 ascetic purification-exercises (s. dhutanga)...
Aṅgaśaithilya (अङ्गशैथिल्य or अंगशैथिल्य) is a Sanskrit technical term translating to &ldquo...
In Aṅgābhinaya the head, hands, arm-pits, sides, waist, and feet, these six, and some say al...
Aṅgabhoga (अङ्गभोग).—One of the two types of worship according to the bhakti cult;&mda...
Khalu Pacchā Bhattik Anga
s. dhutanga.
Aṅganyāsa (अङ्गन्यास):—The sanskrit name of a tantric ritual translating to “Ins...
Aṅgavidyā (अङ्गविद्या).—The several subsidiary vidyās of Śrīvidyā are arranged into si...
Pamsukūlik Anga
the 'vow to wear only robes made from picked-up rags', is one of the ascetic rules of purificat...
Kāyāṅga:—A limb of the body, kāy’aṅgaṃ vāc’aṅgaṃ vā na kopenti: they remai...

Search through literary sources:

Search found 154 books containing Lāsyāṅga or Lasya-anga. You can also click to the full overview containing English textual excerpts. Below are direct links for the 20 most relevant articles:

- Was this explanation helpufll? Leave a comment:

Make this page a better place for research and define the term yourself in your own words.

You have to be a member in order to post comments. Click here to login or click here to become a member.