Krodhamandala, Krodhamaṇḍala, Krodha-mandala: 2 definitions


Krodhamandala means something in Buddhism, Pali, Hinduism, Sanskrit. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Hinduism

Shaktism (Shakta philosophy)

[«previous next»] — Krodhamandala in Shaktism glossary
Source: Google Books: Manthanabhairavatantram

Krodhamaṇḍala (क्रोधमण्डल) refers to the “sphere of anger” (between the eyebrows), according to the Manthānabhairavatantra, a vast sprawling work that belongs to a corpus of Tantric texts concerned with the worship of the goddess Kubjikā.—Accordingly, “(The energy called) the Eldest (jyeṣṭhā) consists of the short vowels. (It is the sacred seat of) the syllable OṂ in the sphere of Anger [i.e., krodhamaṇḍala] (between the eyebrows). O concentrated, beautiful one! I am (she), one (alone) who is the Command which is the bud of the Kadamba”.

Shaktism book cover
context information

Shakta (शाक्त, śākta) or Shaktism (śāktism) represents a tradition of Hinduism where the Goddess (Devi) is revered and worshipped. Shakta literature includes a range of scriptures, including various Agamas and Tantras, although its roots may be traced back to the Vedas.

Discover the meaning of krodhamandala in the context of Shaktism from relevant books on Exotic India

In Buddhism

Tibetan Buddhism (Vajrayana or tantric Buddhism)

Source: Himalayan Art: General

Krodha-mandala in Sanskrit refers to the Wrathful Mandala (Tibetan: drag po'i kyil khor): a 19 or 20 deity mandala with the central figure standing on a triangle base and inner sanctum with one door. Small circles represent the deities. The four main retinue deities stand on a four-spoke weapon wheel of four colours; white, yellow, red and green. The outer ten deities stand on a ten-spoke wheel. Four guardians stand at the four doors represented by the ‘T’-shaped structures. The square shape of the outer walls rests atop a large double vajra (Skt.: visvavajra) and ring of lotus petals further surrounded by the eight great charnel grounds, ring of vajras and the five coloured flames of pristine awareness.

Tibetan Buddhism book cover
context information

Tibetan Buddhism includes schools such as Nyingma, Kadampa, Kagyu and Gelug. Their primary canon of literature is divided in two broad categories: The Kangyur, which consists of Buddha’s words, and the Tengyur, which includes commentaries from various sources. Esotericism and tantra techniques (vajrayāna) are collected indepently.

Discover the meaning of krodhamandala in the context of Tibetan Buddhism from relevant books on Exotic India

See also (Relevant definitions)

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: