Kharataragacchapattavali, Kharataragacchapaṭṭāvalī, Kharataragaccha-pattavali: 1 definition


Kharataragacchapattavali means something in Jainism, Prakrit. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

Alternative spellings of this word include Kharataragachchhapattavali.

In Jainism

General definition (in Jainism)

[«previous next»] — Kharataragacchapattavali in Jainism glossary
Source: University of Cambridge: Jainism

Kharataragacchapaṭṭāvalī (खरतरगच्छपट्टावली) is written in Sanskrit prose, and contains a list of the heads or pontiffs (sūri) of the Kharataragaccha, one of the most important Śvetāmbara monastic orders, , together with a narration of events in their lives, and can thus be called a Kharataragacchapaṭṭāvalī.

For the first 62 teachers, it is the same text as the Berlin manuscript Ms. or. fol. 729. They are:—

  1. Mahāvīra,
  2. Sudharmasvāmī,
  3. Jambūsvāmī,
  4. Prabhavasvāmī,
  5. Saṃbhava,
  6. Yaśobhadra,
  7. Saṃbhūtivijaya,
  8. Bhadrabāhu,
  9. Sthūlabhadrasvāmī,
  10. Mahāgiri,
  11. Suhasti,
  12. Susthi,
  13. Indradinnasūri,
  14. Dinnasūri,
  15. Siṃhagiri,
  16. Vajrasvāmin,
  17. Vajrasenācārya,
  18. Candrasūri,
  19. Samantabhadrasūri,
  20. Devasūri,
  21. Pradyotanasūri,
  22. Mānadevasūri,
  23. Mānatungasūri,
  24. Vīrasūri,
  25. Jayadevasūri,
  26. Devānandasūri,
  27. Vikramasūri,
  28. Narasiṃhasūri,
  29. Samudrasūri,
  30. Mānadevasūri,
  31. Vibudhaprabhasūri,
  32. Jayānandasūri,
  33. Raviprabhasūri,
  34. Yaśobhadrasūri,
  35. Vimalacandrasūri,
  36. Devasūri,
  37. Nemicandra,
  38. Uddyotanasūri,
  39. Varddhamānasūri,
  40. Jineśvarasūri,
  41. Jinacandrasūri,
  42. Abhayadevasūri,
  43. Jinavallabhasūri,
  44. Jinadattasūri,
  45. Jinacandrasūri,
  46. Jinapatisūri,
  47. Jineśvarasūri,
  48. Jinaprabodhasūri,
  49. Jinacandrasūri,
  50. Jinakuśalasūri,
  51. Jinapadmasūri,
  52. Jinalabdhisūri,
  53. Jinacandrasūri,
  54. Jinodayasūri,
  55. Jinarājasūri,
  56. Jinabhadrasūri,
  57. Jinacandra,
  58. Jinasamudrasūri,
  59. Jinasiṃhasūri (or Jinahaṃsasūri),
  60. Jinamāṇikyasūri,
  61. Jinacandrasūri (Akbar's contemporary),
  62. Jinasiṃhasūri,
  63. Jinasāgarasūri,
  64. Jinadharmasūri,
  65. Jinacandrasūri,
  66. Jinavijaya,
  67. Jinakīrtisūri,
  68. Jinayuktisūri,
  69. Jinacandrasūri,
  70. Jinaudayasūri (= Jinodayasūri).
General definition book cover
context information

Jainism is an Indian religion of Dharma whose doctrine revolves around harmlessness (ahimsa) towards every living being. The two major branches (Digambara and Svetambara) of Jainism stimulate self-control (or, shramana, ‘self-reliance’) and spiritual development through a path of peace for the soul to progess to the ultimate goal.

Discover the meaning of kharataragacchapattavali in the context of General definition from relevant books on Exotic India

See also (Relevant definitions)

Relevant text

Help me keep this site Ad-Free

For over a decade, this site has never bothered you with ads. I want to keep it that way. But I humbly request your help to keep doing what I do best: provide the world with unbiased truth, wisdom and knowledge.

Let's make the world a better place together!

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: