Kamanashakamurti, aka: Kāmanāśakamūrti, Kamanashaka-murti; 1 Definition(s)


Kamanashakamurti means something in Hinduism, Sanskrit. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

The Sanskrit term Kāmanāśakamūrti can be transliterated into English as Kamanasakamurti or Kamanashakamurti, using the IAST transliteration scheme (?).

In Hinduism

Shaivism (Shaiva philosophy)

Kamanashakamurti in Shaivism glossary... « previous · [K] · next »

Kāmanāśakamūrti (कामनाशकमूर्ति) or simply Kāmanāśaka refers to one of the twenty-three forms (mūrti) of Śiva mentioned in the Pūrvakāmikāgama (pratimālakṣaṇavidhi-paṭala): first and foremost among the Mūlāgama. The forms of Śiva (eg., Kāmanāśaka-mūrti) are established through a process known as Sādākhya, described as a five-fold process of creation.

Source: Shodhganga: Iconographical representations of Śiva
Shaivism book cover
context information

Shaiva (शैव, śaiva) or Shaivism (śaivism) represents a tradition of Hinduism worshiping Shiva as the supreme being. Closely related to Shaktism, Shaiva literature includes a range of scriptures, including Tantras, while the root of this tradition may be traced back to the ancient Vedas.

Discover the meaning of kamanashakamurti or kamanasakamurti in the context of Shaivism from relevant books on Exotic India

Relevant definitions

Search found 275 related definition(s) that might help you understand this better. Below you will find the 15 most relevant articles:

Dakṣiṇāmūrti refers to one of the manifestations of Śiva.—The image of Dakṣiṇāmūrti in Jambukeś...
Mūrti (मूर्ति).—One of the thirteen daughters of Dakṣaprajāpati. This girl was married to Dharm...
Trimūrti (त्रिमूर्ति) or simply Tri refers to one of the ten forms (mūrti) of Śiva mentioned in...
Umāsahitamūrti (उमासहितमूर्ति) or simply Umāsahita refers to one of the twenty-three forms (mūr...
1) Liṅgodbhavamūrti (लिङ्गोद्भवमूर्ति) or simply Liṅgodbhava refers to one of the twenty-three ...
1) Sukhāsanamūrti (सुखासनमूर्ति) or simply Sukhāsana refers to one of the twenty-three forms (m...
1) Bhikṣāṭanamūrti (भिक्षाटनमूर्ति) or simply Bhikṣāṭana refers to one of the twenty-eighth for...
1) Kaṅkālamūrti (कङ्कालमूर्ति) or simply Kaṅkāla refers to one of the twenty-three forms (mūrti...
1) Somāskandamūrti (सोमास्कन्दमूर्ति) or simply Somāskanda refers to one of the twenty-eighth f...
Aṣṭamūrti (अष्टमूर्ति).—Earth, Water, Air, Fire, Ether, Hotā, Sun and Moon.
1) Nṛttamūrti (नृत्तमूर्ति) or simply Nṛtta refers to one of the twenty-three forms (mūrti) of ...
1) Ardhanārīśvaramūrti (अर्धनारीश्वरमूर्ति) or simply Ardhanārīśvara refers to one of the eight...
1) Caṇḍeśānugrahamūrti (चण्डेशानुग्रहमूर्ति) or simply Caṇḍeśānugraha refers to one of the twen...
1) Kālārimūrti (कालारिमूर्ति) or simply Kālāri refers to one of the twenty-eighth forms (mūrti)...
Haryardhamūrti (हर्यर्धमूर्ति) or simply Haryardha refers to one of the ten forms (mūrti) of Śi...

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: