Wisdom Library Logo

Jyotishka, aka: Jyotiṣka; 4 Definition(s)


Jyotishka means something in Hinduism, Sanskrit, Jainism, Prakrit. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

The Sanskrit term Jyotiṣka can be transliterated into English as Jyotiska or Jyotishka, using the IAST transliteration scheme (?).

In Hinduism


Jyotiṣka (ज्योतिष्क).—A peak of Meru full of precious stones; here Ādityas, Vasus, Aśvins, Guhyakas, Yakṣas, other sages, Apsaras, all worship Paśupati besides Nandi and Gangā.*

  • * Vāyu-purāṇa 30. 81-92.
Source: Cologne Digital Sanskrit Dictionaries: The Purana IndexPurāṇa book cover
context information

The Purāṇas (पुराण, purana) refers to Sanskrit literature preserving ancient India’s vast cultural history, including historical legends, religious ceremonies, various arts and sciences. The eighteen mahāpurāṇas total over 400,000 ślokas (metrical couplets) and date to at least several centuries BCE.

In Jainism

General definition (in Jainism)

Jyotiṣka (ज्योतिष्क).—According to both the Digambara and Śvetāmbara sects the Jyotiṣkas are divided into five classes: suns, moons, planets, asterisms and miscellaneous stars. It is said that every moon has 88 planets. The nakṣatras are 28 in number. The planets are notweworthy in Jaina iconography. They are found in the parikara of a Jaina-image.

Source: Google Books: Jaina Iconography

Jyotiṣka (ज्योतिष्क).—The five subtypes of Jyotiṣkas are:

  1. the sun (sūrya),
  2. moon (candra),
  3. planet (graha),
  4. constellation (nakṣatra),
  5. and stray star (prakīrṇatārā).

And it is in terms of their motion around the mountain Meru that in the region inhabited by human beings time is divided into units like seconds, days and nights, months, years, etc. The properties which increase in the case of a higher-situated god are life-duration, efficiency, pleasure, glow, purity of soul-coloring, extension of the field of sensory cognition, and extension of the field of vague sensory awareness; and the properties which decrease in the case of a higher-situated god are movement, bodily size, appropriation and arrogance.

Source: Google Books: Encyclopedia of Indian Philosophies volume X: Jain Philosophy (Part 1)

Jyotiṣka (ज्योतिष्क).—One of the four species of devas (gods).—The Jyotiṣkas are divided into 5 classes: suns, moons, planets, nakṣatras and fixed stars. In the human world these are continually revolving, in the direction twoards the right round the Meru mountain; beyond it they are not in constant movement. there are many Indras here—the suns and moons—besides 7 other grades.

Source: Google Books: The Doctrine of Karman in Jain Philosophy

Relevant definitions

Search found 2 related definition(s) that might help you understand this better. Below you will find the 15 most relevant articles:

Deva (देव).—Description of a women of goddes (deva) type;—A woman who has delicate limbs, stead...
Śailarājasutā (शैलराजसुता).—Resides in Jyotiṣka on Meru with Śiva, and worshipped by all....

Relevant text

Search found 13 books containing Jyotishka or Jyotiṣka. You can also click to the full overview containing English textual excerpts. Below are direct links for the 20 most relevant articles:

- Was this explanation helpufll? Leave a comment:

Make this page a better place for research and define the term yourself in your own words.

You have to be a member in order to post comments. Click here to login or click here to become a member.