Jnanacakra, Jñānacakra, Jnana-cakra: 1 definition


Jnanacakra means something in Buddhism, Pali. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

Alternative spellings of this word include Jnanachakra.

In Buddhism

Tibetan Buddhism (Vajrayana or tantric Buddhism)

Source: academia.edu: The Structure and Meanings of the Heruka Maṇḍala

Jñānacakra (ज्ञानचक्र) refers to the “gnosis circle” positioned in the saṃbhoga-puṭa or ‘enjoyment layer’ of the Herukamaṇḍala: a large-scale and elaborate maṇḍala of Heruka, consisting of 986 deities, as found in the Ḍākārṇava chapter 15.—The Herukamaṇḍala consists of four layers (puṭa) consisting of concentric circles (cakra, totally one lotus at the center and 12 concentric circles, that is, 13 circles in total).

The jñānacakra contains 36 pairs of Ḍākinī and Hero, collectively called gnosis Heruka (jñānaheruka):

  1. Tilottamā & Tilottama,
  2. Atisukhā & Atisukha,
  3. Apsarasā & Apsarasa,
  4. Mahāratā & Mahārata,
  5. Ratī & Rati,
  6. Ratākhyā & Ratākhya,
  7. Padminī & Padmaka,
  8. Śaṅkhinī & Śaṅkha,
  9. Citriṇī & Citraka,
  10. Gajā & Gaja,
  11. Mahārūpā & Mahārūpa,
  12. Surūpā & Surūpa,
  13. Kāntā & Kānta,
  14. Vilāsinī & Vilāsa,
  15. Sukhā & Sukha,
  16. Puṣpakāmī & Puṣpakāma,
  17. Kumudī & Kumuda,
  18. Nīlotpalā & Nīlotpala,
  19. Sundarī & Sundara,
  20. Rāgā & Rāga,
  21. Mahārāgā & Mahārāga,
  22. Rāmākhyā & Rāmākhya,
  23. Mahārāmakī & Mahārāmaka,
  24. Madanā & Madana,
  25. Madanapriyā & Madanapriya,
  26. Kāminī & Kāmin,
  27. Mahākāmikā & Mahākāmika,
  28. Sukhodbhavā & Sukhodbhava,
  29. Sukhamatī & Sukhamati,
  30. Priyatamā & Priyatama,
  31. Premakā & Premaka,
  32. Saubhāgyamatī & Saubhāgyamat,
  33. Saubhāgyā & Saubhāgya,
  34. Meṇukā & Meṇuka,
  35. Pradyumukhī (Pradyumnakī) & Pradyumnaka,
  36. Jātirūpī & Jātirūpa,

They are multi-colored; they each have one face and four arms; they hold a skull bowl, a skull staff, a small drum, and a knife.

Tibetan Buddhism book cover
context information

Tibetan Buddhism includes schools such as Nyingma, Kadampa, Kagyu and Gelug. Their primary canon of literature is divided in two broad categories: The Kangyur, which consists of Buddha’s words, and the Tengyur, which includes commentaries from various sources. Esotericism and tantra techniques (vajrayāna) are collected indepently.

Discover the meaning of jnanacakra in the context of Tibetan Buddhism from relevant books on Exotic India

See also (Relevant definitions)

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: