Hridayamantra, Hṛdayamantra, Hridaya-mantra: 3 definitions


Hridayamantra means something in Buddhism, Pali, Hinduism, Sanskrit. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

The Sanskrit term Hṛdayamantra can be transliterated into English as Hrdayamantra or Hridayamantra, using the IAST transliteration scheme (?).

In Hinduism

Pancaratra (worship of Nārāyaṇa)

[«previous next»] — Hridayamantra in Pancaratra glossary
Source: Isvara Samhita Vol 5

Hṛdayamantra (हृदयमन्त्र) is the name of a mantra to be uttered during certain preparations of śuddhānna, according in verse 25.94-107a of the 8th-century Īśvarasaṃhitā. Accordingly, “rice (taṇḍula) shall be put in them with viṣṇugāyatrī. They are to be filled with water, where there is rice in every vessel uttering the mantra ‘ambhasyapāra’ and hṛdayamantra”.

Pancaratra book cover
context information

Pancaratra (पाञ्चरात्र, pāñcarātra) represents a tradition of Hinduism where Narayana is revered and worshipped. Closeley related to Vaishnavism, the Pancaratra literature includes various Agamas and tantras incorporating many Vaishnava philosophies.

Discover the meaning of hridayamantra or hrdayamantra in the context of Pancaratra from relevant books on Exotic India

Shaivism (Shaiva philosophy)

[«previous next»] — Hridayamantra in Shaivism glossary
Source: SOAS University of London: Protective Rites in the Netra Tantra

Hṛdayamantra (हृदयमन्त्र) is the name of a Mantra, according to the Netratantra of Kṣemarāja: a Śaiva text from the 9th century in which Śiva (Bhairava) teaches Pārvatī topics such as metaphysics, cosmology, and soteriology.—Accordingly, [verse 2.28cd-33]—“Now, I shall explain the limbs of the mantra, with which, tied together, he achieves perfection. The hṛdayamantra, [which] confers all perfections, is the letter that terminates in the middle [j], followed by the fifth sovereign vowel [u], and summits with the conclusion of wind []. The śiras is terminal soma [v] joined with that from anala [y] and yoked with oṃ. [...]”.

Shaivism book cover
context information

Shaiva (शैव, śaiva) or Shaivism (śaivism) represents a tradition of Hinduism worshiping Shiva as the supreme being. Closely related to Shaktism, Shaiva literature includes a range of scriptures, including Tantras, while the root of this tradition may be traced back to the ancient Vedas.

Discover the meaning of hridayamantra or hrdayamantra in the context of Shaivism from relevant books on Exotic India

In Buddhism

Tibetan Buddhism (Vajrayana or tantric Buddhism)

Source: A Critical Sanskrit Edition and a Translation of Kambala’s Sādhananidhi, Chapter 8

Hṛdayamantra (हृदयमन्त्र) refers to the “heart mantra of Heruka”, and represents one of the four major mantras in the Cakrasaṃvara tradition, as taught in the eighth chapter of the 9th-century Herukābhidhāna and its commentary, the Sādhananidhi.  The Hṛdaya-mantra consists of twenty-two letters.

The mantra is as follows: “oṃ śrīvajra-he-he-ru-ru-kaṃ hūṃ hūṃ phaṭ ḍākinījālasaṃvaraṃ svāhā”.

A practitioner in meditation visualizes that twenty-two deities are developed from the twenty-two letters constituting the mantra. Each letter of the mantra is used as the initial letter of each deity’s name except for the first and second deities, who are the chief couple deities and located at the center of the maṇḍala.

The twenty-two deities are:

  1. The Lord (Bhagavat) (hūṃ),
  2. Vārāhī (śrī),
  3. Praṇavaḍākinī (oṃ),
  4. Vaḍavāmukhaḍākinī (va),
  5. Jraśogrā (jra),
  6. Hemā (he), who reside on a lotus of eight petals;
  7. Helikā (he),
  8. Rucakī (ru),
  9. Rucakamālinī (ru),
  10. Kaṅkālinī (kaṃ),
  11. Hūṃkāriṇī (hūṃ),
  12. Phaṭkāriṇī (phaṭ),
  13. Ḍāmarī (ḍā),
  14. Kilikilā (ki), who reside on the eight spokes;
  15. Nīlodbhavā (),
  16. Jālottamā (),
  17. Lambodarī (la),
  18. Śambarī (śaṃ/saṃ), who reside at the four corners;
  19. Varālogrā (va),
  20. Ramakogrā (raṃ),
  21. Svābhajālottamā (svā),
  22. Hāravijayottamā (), who reside at the four gates

The Lord has eight faces and sixteen arms. The purity (śuddhi/viśuddhi), or symbolic meaning, of his eight faces is the Eight Liberations (aṣṭavimokṣa), and the purity of his sixteen arms is represented by the Sixteen Emptinesses (ṣoḍaśaśūnyatā).

Tibetan Buddhism book cover
context information

Tibetan Buddhism includes schools such as Nyingma, Kadampa, Kagyu and Gelug. Their primary canon of literature is divided in two broad categories: The Kangyur, which consists of Buddha’s words, and the Tengyur, which includes commentaries from various sources. Esotericism and tantra techniques (vajrayāna) are collected indepently.

Discover the meaning of hridayamantra or hrdayamantra in the context of Tibetan Buddhism from relevant books on Exotic India

See also (Relevant definitions)

Relevant text

Help me keep this site Ad-Free

For over a decade, this site has never bothered you with ads. I want to keep it that way. But I humbly request your help to keep doing what I do best: provide the world with unbiased truth, wisdom and knowledge.

Let's make the world a better place together!

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: