Hairanyavatavarsha, Hairaṇyavatavarṣa, Hairanyavata-varsha: 2 definitions


Hairanyavatavarsha means something in Jainism, Prakrit. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

The Sanskrit term Hairaṇyavatavarṣa can be transliterated into English as Hairanyavatavarsa or Hairanyavatavarsha, using the IAST transliteration scheme (?).

In Jainism

General definition (in Jainism)

[«previous next»] — Hairanyavatavarsha in Jainism glossary
Source: Trisastisalakapurusacaritra

Hairaṇyavatavarṣa (हैरण्यवतवर्ष) (or Hairaṇyavatakṣetra) is another name for Hairaṇyavata: one of the seven zones of Jambūdvīpa which is situated in the “middle world” (madhyaloka), according to chapter 2.2 [ajitanātha-caritra] of Hemacandra’s 11th century Triṣaṣṭiśalākāpuruṣacaritra (“lives of the 63 illustrious persons”): a Sanskrit epic poem narrating the history and legends of sixty-three important persons in Jainism.

Note: Hairaṇyavatavarṣa refers to one of the various Bhogabhūmis or Akarmabhūmis, which refers to worlds where the inhabitants are twins, and everything is supplied by wishing-trees.—(cf. Pravacanasāroddhāra 1054 f., P. 311.)

Source: Encyclopedia of Jainism: Tattvartha Sutra 3: The Lower and middle worlds

Hairaṇyavatavarṣa (हैरण्यवतवर्ष) or simply Hairaṇyavata refers to a region of Jambūdvīpa: the first continent of the Madhya-loka (middle-word), according to the 2nd-century Tattvārthasūtra 3.10. Hiraṇya in Hindi means gold or golden. Due to the fact that this region is in close proximity to the Rukmi Mount which have a golden hue, this region has been given the name Hairaṇyavatakṣetra. The mountain chain Rukmi separates Ramyaka and Hairaṇyavata regions. The mountain chain Śikhari separates the Hairaṇyavata and Airāvata regions. Suvarṇakūlā and Rūpyakūlā rivers divide Hairaṇyavata-kṣetra.

The five Hairaṇyavata regions in which human beings live have a happy-misery period (3rd time period) always. There the inhabitants have a life span of one palya, height of their bodies is 2000 bows, they take food once on alternate days, and their bodies are of blue colour (like blue lotus) which is similar to the Haimvata regions in the north.

Jambūdvīpa (containing the Hairaṇyavata-varṣa region) is in the centre of all continents and oceans; all continents and oceans are concentric circles with Jambūdvīpa in the centre. Like the navel is in the centre of the body, Jambūdvīpa is in the centre of all continents and oceans. Sumeru Mount is in the centre of Jambūdvīpa. It is also called Mount Sudarśana.

General definition book cover
context information

Jainism is an Indian religion of Dharma whose doctrine revolves around harmlessness (ahimsa) towards every living being. The two major branches (Digambara and Svetambara) of Jainism stimulate self-control (or, shramana, ‘self-reliance’) and spiritual development through a path of peace for the soul to progess to the ultimate goal.

Discover the meaning of hairanyavatavarsha or hairanyavatavarsa in the context of General definition from relevant books on Exotic India

See also (Relevant definitions)

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: