Hairanyavata, aka: Hairaṇyavata; 2 Definition(s)


Hairanyavata means something in Jainism, Prakrit. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Jainism

General definition (in Jainism)

Hairaṇyavata (हैरण्यवत).—One of the seven regions (kṣetra) of Jambūdvīpa according to Jaina cosmology. Jambūdvīpa sits at the centre of madhyaloka (‘middle world’) is the most important of all continents and it is here where human beings reside. In Hairaṇyavata flows the twin rivers Suvarṇakūlā and Rūpyakūlā.

(Source): Wisdom Library: Jainism

Hairaṇyavata (हैरण्यवत) or Hairaṇyavatavarṣa refers to a region of Jambūdvīpa: the first continent of the Madhya-loka (middle-word), according to the 2nd-century Tattvārthasūtra 3.10. Hiraṇya in Hindi means gold or golden. Due to the fact that this region is in close proximity to the Rukmi Mount which have a golden hue, this region has been given the name Hairaṇyavatakṣetra. The mountain chain Rukmi separates Ramyaka and Hairaṇyavata regions. The mountain chain Śikhari separates the Hairaṇyavata and Airāvata regions. Suvarṇakūlā and Rūpyakūlā rivers divide Hairaṇyavata-kṣetra.

The five Hairaṇyavata regions in which human beings live have a happy-misery period (3rd time period) always. There the inhabitants have a life span of one palya, height of their bodies is 2000 bows, they take food once on alternate days, and their bodies are of blue colour (like blue lotus) which is similar to the Haimvata regions in the north.

Jambūdvīpa (containing the Hairaṇyavata region) is in the centre of all continents and oceans; all continents and oceans are concentric circles with Jambūdvīpa in the centre. Like the navel is in the centre of the body, Jambūdvīpa is in the centre of all continents and oceans. Sumeru Mount is in the centre of Jambūdvīpa. It is also called Mount Sudarśana.

(Source): Encyclopedia of Jainism: Tattvartha Sutra 3: The Lower and middle worlds
General definition book cover
context information

Jainism is an Indian religion of Dharma whose doctrine revolves around harmlessness (ahimsa) towards every living being. The two major branches (Digambara and Svetambara) of Jainism stimulate self-control (or, shramana, ‘self-reliance’) and spiritual development through a path of peace for the soul to progess to the ultimate goal.

Discover the meaning of hairanyavata in the context of General definition from relevant books on Exotic India

Relevant definitions

Search found 11 related definition(s) that might help you understand this better. Below you will find the 15 most relevant articles:

Hairaṇyavatavarṣa (हैरण्यवतवर्ष) or simply Hairaṇyavata refers to a region of Jambūdvīpa: the f...
Jambūdvīpa (जम्बूद्वीप).—One of the Purāṇically famous Saptadvīpas (seven continents). These se...
Airāvata (ऐरावत).—[irā āpaḥ tadvān irāvān samudraḥ tasmādutpannaḥ aṇ]1) Name of the elephant of...
Rūpyakūlā (रूप्यकूला) is the name of a river that, coupled with the Suvarṇakūlā river, separate...
Suvarṇakūlā (सुवर्णकूला) is the name of a river that, coupled with the Rūpyakūlā river, separat...
Rukmī (रुक्मी).—General information. King of the Province Bhojakaṭa in the country of Vidarbha....
1) Ramyaka (रम्यक).—A son of Agnīdhra, who had nine sons by his wife Pūrvacittī. (Bhāgavata, 5t...
Ramyakavarṣa (रम्यकवर्ष) is the name a locality mentioned in Rājaśekhara’s 10th-century Kāvyamī...
Bhogabhūmi (भोगभूमि).—f. 'the land of enjoyment', heaven, paradise (where persons are said to e...
Rukmin (रुक्मिन्).—a.1) Wearing golden ornaments.2) Gilded. -m. Name of the eldest son of Bhīṣm...
Airāvatavarṣa (ऐरावतवर्ष) or simply Airāvata refers to a region of Jambūdvīpa: the first contin...

Relevant text