Haimavatavarsha, aka: Haimavatavarṣa, Haimavata-Varsha; 2 Definition(s)


Haimavatavarsha means something in Hinduism, Sanskrit, Jainism, Prakrit. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

The Sanskrit term Haimavatavarṣa can be transliterated into English as Haimavatavarsa or Haimavatavarsha, using the IAST transliteration scheme (?).

In Hinduism

Purana and Itihasa (epic history)

Haimavatavarsha in Purana glossary... « previous · [H] · next »

Haimavatavarṣa (हैमवतवर्ष).—Is Bhāratavarṣa;1 Bhāratam in Jambūdvīpa.2

  • 1) Brahmāṇḍa-purāṇa II. 15. 31.
  • 2) Vāyu-purāṇa 34. 28.
Source: Cologne Digital Sanskrit Dictionaries: The Purana Index
Purana book cover
context information

The Purana (पुराण, purāṇas) refers to Sanskrit literature preserving ancient India’s vast cultural history, including historical legends, religious ceremonies, various arts and sciences. The eighteen mahapuranas total over 400,000 shlokas (metrical couplets) and date to at least several centuries BCE.

Discover the meaning of haimavatavarsha or haimavatavarsa in the context of Purana from relevant books on Exotic India

In Jainism

General definition (in Jainism)

Haimavatavarsha in Jainism glossary... « previous · [H] · next »

Haimavatavarṣa (हैमवतवर्ष) or simply Haimavata refers to a region of Jambūdvīpa: the first continent of the Madhya-loka (middle-word), according to the 2nd-century Tattvārthasūtra 3.10. It is named after supreme lord (cakravarti) Bharata. Proximity to Himavāna region is the reason for assigning the name Haimavatavarsha to 2nd region. The mountain chain Himavana separates the Bharata and Haimavata regions. The mountain chain Mahāhimavān separates the Haimavata and Harivarsha. Rohita and Rohitāsyā rivers divide Haimavata-kṣetra.

The life span of inhabitants of Haimavat, Harivarṣa and Devakuru beings is one, two and three palyopama. The five Haimavat regions of two and a half continents (dhāi-dvīpa), in which inhabitants live, have the happy-misery period (3rd time period) always. There the inhabitants have a life span of one palya, the height of their body is 2000 bows, they take food once on alternate days, and they have bodies are of blue colour (like blue lotus).

Jambūdvīpa (containing the Haimavata-varṣa region) is in the centre of all continents and oceans; all continents and oceans are concentric circles with Jambūdvīpa in the centre. Like the navel is in the centre of the body, Jambūdvīpa is in the centre of all continents and oceans. Sumeru Mount is in the centre of Jambūdvīpa. It is also called Mount Sudarśana.

Source: Encyclopedia of Jainism: Tattvartha Sutra 3: The Lower and middle worlds
General definition book cover
context information

Jainism is an Indian religion of Dharma whose doctrine revolves around harmlessness (ahimsa) towards every living being. The two major branches (Digambara and Svetambara) of Jainism stimulate self-control (or, shramana, ‘self-reliance’) and spiritual development through a path of peace for the soul to progess to the ultimate goal.

Discover the meaning of haimavatavarsha or haimavatavarsa in the context of General definition from relevant books on Exotic India

Relevant definitions

Search found 299 related definition(s) that might help you understand this better. Below you will find the 15 most relevant articles:

Varṣa (वर्ष).—mn. (-rṣaḥ-rṣaṃ) 1. Rain, raining. 2. Sprinkling, effusion. 3. Seminal effusion. ...
Harivarṣa (हरिवर्ष).—n. (-rṣaṃ) A division of the old or known continent; the country between t...
Haimavata (हैमवत).—n. (-taṃ) Bharata-Varsha or India. m. (-taḥ) A sort of poison. f. (-tī) 1. P...
Bhāratavarṣa (भारतवर्ष)  is one of the nine divisions of the earth as separated off by cer...
Ilāvṛtavarṣa (इलावृतवर्ष).—That part of the country in the centre of Jambūdvīpa. (Mahābhārata S...
Koṭivarṣa (कोटिवर्ष).—n. (-rṣa) The name of a city, Vanapuri or Devikote, on the Koromandel coa...
Hiraṇmayavarṣa (हिरण्मयवर्ष) is the name a locality mentioned in Rājaśekhara’s 10th-century Kāv...
Ramyakavarṣa (रम्यकवर्ष) is the name a locality mentioned in Rājaśekhara’s 10th-century Kāvyamī...
Varṣadhara (वर्षधर).—m. (-raḥ) 1. An eunuch or attendant on the women’s apartments. 2. A cloud....
Varṣābhū (वर्षाभू).—m. (-bhūḥ) A frog. f. (-bhvī) 1. Hog-weed. 2. An earth-worm, (Iulus.) 3. A ...
Amoghavarṣa (अमोघवर्ष).—Name of a Chālukya prince. Derivable forms: amoghavarṣaḥ (अमोघवर्षः).Am...
Varṣa-vṛddhi.—probably ‘birthday anniversary’ (JAS, Letters, Vol. XX, p. 206). Note: varṣa-vṛdd...
Varṣaparvata (वर्षपर्वत) or Varṣaparvvata.—m. (-taḥ) A mountainous range, supposed to separate ...
Śaravarṣa (शरवर्ष).—m. (-rṣaḥ) A flight or shower of arrows. E. śara, varṣa rain.
Puṣpavarṣa (पुष्पवर्ष).—m. (-rṣaḥ) A rain of flowers, flowers cast from heaven upon a hero or d...

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: