Four Goddesses: 1 definition


Four Goddesses means something in Buddhism, Pali. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

Images (photo gallery)

In Buddhism

General definition (in Buddhism)

[«previous next»] — Four Goddesses in Buddhism glossary
Source: Wisdom Library: Dharma-samgraha

Four Goddesses:—A technical term in Buddhism corresponding to the Sanskrit caturdevī defined in the Dharma-saṃgraha (section 4):

  1. Rocanī (Yellow goddess),
  2. Māmakī (Devoted goddess),
  3. Pāṇḍurā (White goddess),
  4. Tārā (Shining goddess).

The Dharma-samgraha (Dharmasangraha) is an extensive glossary of Buddhist technical terms in Sanskrit (e.g., caturdevī, ‘four Goddesses’). The work is attributed to Nagarguna who lived around the 2nd century A.D.

See also (Relevant definitions)

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: