Five Super-Mundane Components: 1 definition



Five Super-Mundane Components means something in Buddhism, Pali. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Buddhism

General definition (in Buddhism)

[«previous next»] — Five Super-Mundane Components in Buddhism glossary
Source: Wisdom Library: Dharma-samgraha

Five Super-Mundane Components:—A technical term in Buddhism corresponding to the Sanskrit lokottara-skandha defined in the Dharma-saṃgraha (section 23):

  1. Virtue (śīla),
  2. Concentration (samādhi),
  3. Wisdom (prajñā),
  4. Freedom (vimukti),
  5. Knowledge and insight into freedom (vimuktijñānadarśana).

The Dharma-samgraha (Dharmasangraha) is an extensive glossary of Buddhist technical terms in Sanskrit (e.g., lokottara-skandha, ‘five super-mundane components’). The work is attributed to Nagarguna who lived around the 2nd century A.D.

See also (Relevant definitions)

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: