Five Deep Knowledges: 1 definition


Five Deep Knowledges means something in Buddhism, Pali. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Buddhism

General definition (in Buddhism)

[«previous next»] — Five Deep Knowledges in Buddhism glossary
Source: Wisdom Library: Dharma-samgraha

Five Deep Knowledges:—A technical term in Buddhism corresponding to the Sanskrit pañcābhijñā defined in the Dharma-saṃgraha (section 20):

  1. The divine eye (divyacakṣus),
  2. The divine ear (divyaśrotra),
  3. Knowledge of others’ minds (paracittajñāna),
  4. Recollection of previous lives (pūrvanivāsānusmṛti),
  5. Spiritual power (ṛddhi).

The Dharma-samgraha (Dharmasangraha) is an extensive glossary of Buddhist technical terms in Sanskrit (e.g., pañca-abhijñā, ‘five deep knowledges’). The work is attributed to Nagarguna who lived around the 2nd century A.D.

See also (Relevant definitions)

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: