Eleven Form Components: 1 definition


Eleven Form Components means something in Buddhism, Pali. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Buddhism

General definition (in Buddhism)

[«previous (E) next»] — Eleven Form Components in Buddhism glossary
Source: Wisdom Library: Dharma-samgraha

Eleven Form Components:—A technical term in Buddhism corresponding to the Sanskrit rūpaskandha defined in the Dharma-saṃgraha (section 26):

  1. Eye (cakṣus),
  2. Ear (śrotra),
  3. Nose (ghrāṇa),
  4. Tongue (jihvā),
  5. Body (kāya),
  6. Mind (manas),
  7. Form (rūpa),
  8. Smell (gandha),
  9. Sound (śabda),
  10. Taste (rasa),
  11. Tangible (sparśa),
  12. Intimation (vijñapti).

The Dharma-samgraha (Dharmasangraha) is an extensive glossary of Buddhist technical terms in Sanskrit (eg., rūpaskandha, ‘eleven form components’). The work is attributed to Nagarguna who lived around the 2nd century A.D.

See also (Relevant definitions)

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: