Wisdom Library Logo

Eighteen Sects of Hinayana, 1 Definition(s)


Eighteen Sects of Hinayana means something in Buddhism, Pali. Check out some of the following descriptions and leave a comment if you want to add your own contribution to this article.

In Buddhism

General definition (in Buddhism)

1 Mahasanghikah is divided into eight schools: Ekavyavaharikah Lokottaravadinah Kaukkutikah (Gokulika) Bahusrutiyah Prajnativadinah Jetavaniyah (Caityasailah) Avarasailah Uttarasailah 2 Sthavirah or Aryasthavirah is divided into ten schools: Haimavatah Vatsiputriyah (developed from Sarvastivadah) Dharmottariyah (developed from Vatsiputriyah) Bhadrayaniyah (developed from Vatsiputriyah) Sammatiyah (developed from Vatsiputriyah) Sannagarikah (developed from Vatsiputriyah) Mahisasakah Dharmaguptah (developed from Mahisasakah) Kasyapiyah (developed from Sarvastivadah) Sautrantika (developed from Sarvastivadah) Under (I), the first five are stated as arising two centuries after the Nirvana of Shakyamuni, and the remaining three a century later, dates which are unreliable. Under (II), the Haimavatah and the Sarvastivadah are dated some 200 years after Nirvana; from the Sarvastivadah soon arose the Vatsiputriyah, from whom soon arose the third, fourth, fifth and sixth; then from the Sarvastivadah there arose the seventh which gave rise to the eighth, and again, near the 400th year, the Sarvastivadah gave rise to the ninth and soon after the tenth. In the list of eighteen, the Sarvastivadah was not taken into account, as it split into all the rest.Source: Buddhist Door: Glossary

Relevant definitions

Search found 555 related definition(s) that might help you understand this better. Below you will find the 15 most relevant articles:

Hīnayāna Skt., “Small Vehicle”; originally a derogatory designation used by repr...
Twenty Sects of Hinayana
See the Eighteen Sects of Hinayana, plus the two originals, i.e. Mahasanghikah and Sthavirah ca...
Four Sects of Hinayana
From the time of Ashoka, there were four principal schools out of the Eighteen sects of Hinayan...
Two Sects of Hinayana
It refers to the Sthaviravadin and Mahasanghika.
Tien Tai Sect
One of the Ten Great Sect in Chinese Buddhism. It was initiated by Hui Man in the dynasty of Be...
Eighteen Fields
The Six Consciousness and the Twelve Bases are together called the Eighteen Fields.
theravāda : (m.) the doctrine of the Theras; the Southern Buddhism.
Eighteen Different Characters
There are eighteen different characters of a Buddha as compared with all other beings in the Ni...
Mahāyāna (Sanskrit: महायान, mahāyāna, literally the “Great Vehicle”) is one of t...
Mahasanghika - Literally means the Member of the Great Order, majority, community
Viṣṇu Purāṇa
Viṣṇupurāṇa (विष्णुपुराण).—One among the eighteen Purāṇas; comprises 23,000 ślokas.** Bhā...
1a) Purāṇa (पुराण).—On measurement of time.** Brahmāṇḍa-purāṇa II. 21. 137.1b) Originally...
Andhaka (अन्धक) is the name of an Asura, as black as collyrium, according to the Matsya-purā...
Subhadra (सुभद्र) is the name of a Yakṣa mentioned in the Tattvārtha-bhāṣya amongst a list o...
Maitreya (मैत्रेय) is one of the sixteen bodhisattvas appearing in the Vajradhātu-mahāmaṇḍala, ...

Relevant text

Search found 624 books containing Eighteen Sects of Hinayana. You can also click to the full overview containing English textual excerpts. Below are direct links for the 20 most relevant articles:

- Was this explanation helpufll? Leave a comment:

Make this page a better place for research and define the term yourself in your own words.

You have to be a member in order to post comments. Click here to login or click here to become a member.