Divyacakshus, aka: Divyacakṣus, Divya-cakshus; 2 Definition(s)


Divyacakshus means something in Buddhism, Pali, Hinduism, Sanskrit. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

The Sanskrit term Divyacakṣus can be transliterated into English as Divyacaksus or Divyacakshus, using the IAST transliteration scheme (?).

Alternative spellings of this word include Divyachakshus.

In Buddhism

Mahayana (major branch of Buddhism)

1) Divyacakṣus (दिव्यचक्षुस्)  refers to “divine eye” and represents one of the five superknowledges (pañcābhijñā) according to the Mahāprajñāpāramitāśāstra chapter X. A pure form (rūpaprasāda) derived from the four great elements that occurs in the eye is called divyacakṣus. It is able to see beings (sattva) and substances (dravya) that occur in the six destinies (ṣaḍgati) of its own level and of lower levels. The divine eye is never incapable of distinguishing between a nearby and a distant form (rūpa), between a coarse (sthūla) and a subtle (sūkṣma) form.

There are two kinds of divyacakṣus,

  1. the one that comes from retribution (vipākalabdha)
  2. and the one that comes from practice (bhāvanālabdha).

2) Divyacakṣus (दिव्यचक्षुस्) refers to the “divine eye” and represents one of the five visual powers (cakṣus) attributed to the Buddha according to the Mahāprajñāpāramitāśāstra (chapter XIV). It is the divine eye (divyacakṣus) that considers the universe (lokadhātu) and beings (sattva) without encountering any obstacles (anāvaraṇam). It is not the same for the other eyes. The wisdom-eye, the Dharma-eye and the buddha-eye, although superior [to the divine eye] are not meant to see beings. If one wishes to see beings, there are only two eyes one can use, the fleshly eye (māṃsacakṣus) and the divine eye (divyacakṣus) but since the fleshly eye’s range is insufficient and encounters obstacles, the Buddha uses the divine eye (divyacakṣus) [to contemplate the universe].

The range of the divine eye (divyacakṣus) is not obstructed by mountains (parvata), walls (kuḍya) or forests (vana). The zealous person (vīryavat), disciplined (śīlavat) and concentrated (dhyāyin), obtains it by the power of practice; it is not an inborn gift. This is why it is called divyacakaṣus.

(Source): Wisdom Library: Maha Prajnaparamita Sastra
Mahayana book cover
context information

Mahayana (महायान, mahāyāna) is a major branch of Buddhism focusing on the path of a Bodhisattva (spiritual aspirants/ enlightened beings). Extant literature is vast and primarely composed in the Sanskrit language. There are many sūtras of which some of the earliest are the various Prajñāpāramitā sūtras.

Discover the meaning of divyacakshus or divyacaksus in the context of Mahayana from relevant books on Exotic India

General definition (in Buddhism)

Divyacakṣus (दिव्यचक्षुस्) refers to the “divine eye” and represents one of the “five deep knowledges” (pañcābhijñā) as defined in the Dharma-saṃgraha (section 20). The Dharma-samgraha (Dharmasangraha) is an extensive glossary of Buddhist technical terms in Sanskrit (eg., pañca-abhijñāu and divyacakṣus). The work is attributed to Nagarjuna who lived around the 2nd century A.D.

Divyacakṣus or simply Divya refers to the ”wisdom eye“ and represents one the “five eyes” (cakṣus) as defined in the Dharma-saṃgraha (section 65).

(Source): Wisdom Library: Dharma-samgraha

Relevant definitions

Search found 170 related definition(s) that might help you understand this better. Below you will find the 15 most relevant articles:

Cakṣu (चक्षु, “eye”) or cakṣvindriya refers to one of the “five sense-organs” (pañcendriya), ac...
Divya (दिव्य, “celestial”).—According to the Mahāprajñāpāramitāśāstra (chapter XIV), it is cust...
1) Cakṣus (चक्षुस्, “eye”) or cakṣurāyatana refers to one of the “twelve sense spheres” (āyatan...
Divyauṣadhi (दिव्यौषधि).—A son of Uttama Manu.** Brahmāṇḍa-purāṇa II. 36. 39.
Māṃsacakṣus (मांसचक्षुस्) or simply Māṃsa refers to the ”fleshly eye“ and represents one the “f...
Buddhacakṣus (बुद्धचक्षुस्) or simply Buddha refers to the ”Buddha eye“ and represents one the ...
Dharmacakṣus (धर्मचक्षुस्) or simply Māṃsa refers to the ”dharma eye“ and represents one the “f...
Prajñācakṣus (प्रज्ञाचक्षुस्) or simply Prajñā refers to the ”divine eye“ and represents one th...
divyacakṣu (दिव्यचक्षु).—n dṛṣṭi f Supernatural powers of vision. a Beautiful-eyed.
Divyaśrotra (दिव्यश्रोत्र) refers to the “divine ear” and represents one of the “five deep know...
Pañcacakṣus (पञ्चचक्षुस्) or simply Cakṣus refers to the “five eyes” as defined in the Dharma-s...
Cakṣvindriya (चक्ष्विन्द्रिय, “sight-sense-organ”) or simply cakṣu refers to one of the “five s...
Cakṣusdhātu (चक्षुस्धातु) or simply cakṣus refers to the “eye element” and represents one of th...
Cakṣusrūpaskandha (चक्षुस्रूपस्कन्ध) or simply cakṣus refers to the “eye form component” and re...
Divyaratna (दिव्यरत्न, “divine jewels”) refers to one of the three classes of jewels (ratna), i...

Relevant text

- Was this explanation helpful? Leave a comment:

Make this page a better place for research and define the term yourself in your own words.

You have to be a member in order to post comments. Click here to login or click here to become a member.