Dhutayga: 3 definitions



Dhutayga means something in Buddhism, Pali. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Buddhism

Theravada (major branch of Buddhism)

Source: Access to Insight: A Glossary of Pali and Buddhist Terms

Dhutayga.—Voluntary ascetic practices that monks and other meditators may undertake from time to time or as a long term commitment in order to cultivate renunciation and contentment, and to stir up energy. For the monks, there are thirteen such practices:

  1. using only patched up robes;
  2. using only one set of three robes;
  3. going for alms;
  4. not by passing any donors on ones alms path;
  5. eating no more than one meal a day;
  6. eating only from the alms bowl;
  7. refusing any food offered after the alms round;
  8. living in the forest;
  9. living under a tree;
  10. living under the open sky;
  11. living in a cemetery;
  12. being content with whatever dwelling one has;
  13. not lying down.
Source: Dhamma Dana: Pali English Glossary

N (Abandon (dhuta); state of mind (ayga)) (Abandon of mental defilements).

The thirteen dhutaygas are a set of ascetic practices taught by Buddha. they are meant for reducing the attachments of the one who observe them, through a training lying in reducing to the least material comfort, food consumption and the use of robes.

Contrarily to the patimokkha, the bhikkhus are not under compulsion to observe the dhutaygas. According to his capacities or determination, everyone is free to practice one, several, all or none of them.

See also: The 13 ascetic practices

context information

Theravāda is a major branch of Buddhism having the the Pali canon (tipitaka) as their canonical literature, which includes the vinaya-pitaka (monastic rules), the sutta-pitaka (Buddhist sermons) and the abhidhamma-pitaka (philosophy and psychology).

Discover the meaning of dhutayga in the context of Theravada from relevant books on Exotic India

General definition (in Buddhism)

Source: Dhamma Dana: The 13 Ascetic Practices of Buddhist Monks

Dhutayga;—There do exist thirteen ascetic practices: two for the robes, five for the food, five for the spot of residence, and one for the posture (known to be the dhutayga of effort). To get access to the detailed definition of a dhutayga, click on its definition in the below displayed board:

  1. pansukula : abandonned robes
  2. tecivarika : three robes
  3. pisoapata : collection by means of ones bowl
  4. sapadanacarika : food collection without skipping houses
  5. ekasanika : a single meal
  6. pattapisoika : everything within the bowl
  7. khalupacchabhattika : no longer accepting any extra food after having started to take the meal
  8. arannika : to remain in the forest
  9. rukkhamula : to remain beneath a tree
  10. abbhokasika : to remain on the bare earth without shelter
  11. susanika : to remain among charnels
  12. yathasantatika : to sleep at the alloted spot
  13. nesajjika : to renonce to the lying posture

See also (Relevant definitions)

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: