Darshanavarana, aka: Darśanāvaraṇa, Darshana-avarana; 1 Definition(s)


Darshanavarana means something in Jainism, Prakrit. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

The Sanskrit term Darśanāvaraṇa can be transliterated into English as Darsanavarana or Darshanavarana, using the IAST transliteration scheme (?).

In Jainism

General definition (in Jainism)

Darshanavarana in Jainism glossary... « previous · [D] · next »

Darśanāvaraṇa (दर्शनावरण) or Darśanāvaraṇīya refers to “perception obscuring (karmas)” and represents one of the eight types of Prakṛti-bandha (species bondage): one of the four kinds of bondage (bandha) according to the 2nd-century Tattvārthasūtra chapter 8.—Accordingly, “what is meant by obscuring (āvaraṇa)? It means to put a veil or cover or to hide. The cover used to hide is called āvaraṇa. What is meant by perception obscuring karma (darśanāvaraṇa)? The karma which obscures or covers the perception attribute of the soul is called perception obscuring karma”.

The nine types of perception obscuring karmas (darśanāvaraṇa) are:

  1. ocular perception (cakṣur-darśana),
  2. non-ocular perception (acakṣus-darśana),
  3. clairvoyant perception (avadhi-darśana),
  4. perfect perception (kevala-darśana),
  5. sleep (nidrā),
  6. deep-sleep (nidrānidrā),
  7. drowsiness (sleep in sitting posture) (pracalā),
  8. heavy drowsiness (pracalāpracalā), 
  9. somnambulism/sleep walking (committing cruel deeds while asleep) (styānagṛddhi or styānarddhi).

Perception (darśana) is of four types. Why nine types of perception obscuring karmas are mentioned here? It is true that perception is of four types only. But we have perception first and then knowledge manifestation. The remaining five i.e. sleep etc do not let one perceive and hence do not let manifestation of knowledge take place. Therefore these five types of sleep have been included here also.

Source: Encyclopedia of Jainism: Tattvartha Sutra 8: Bondage of karmas
General definition book cover
context information

Jainism is an Indian religion of Dharma whose doctrine revolves around harmlessness (ahimsa) towards every living being. The two major branches (Digambara and Svetambara) of Jainism stimulate self-control (or, shramana, ‘self-reliance’) and spiritual development through a path of peace for the soul to progess to the ultimate goal.

Discover the meaning of darshanavarana or darsanavarana in the context of General definition from relevant books on Exotic India

Relevant definitions

Search found 258 related definition(s) that might help you understand this better. Below you will find the 15 most relevant articles:

Darśana (दर्शन).—Philosophy is known as darśana or “vision of truth” in India. The word darśana...
Āvaraṇa (आवरण).—A King of Viśvakarmā’s dynasty. Genealogy. From Viṣṇu were born in the followin...
Priyadarśana (प्रियदर्शन), son of Vāsuki, is the father of Kanakavarṣa according to t...
Devadarśana (देवदर्शन) is the name of a Brāhman, according to the Kathāsaritsāgara, chapter 73....
Mithyādarśana (मिथ्यादर्शन, “wrong belief”) refers to one of the five causes of bondage (bandha...
Rajodarśana (रजोदर्शन).—the first appearance of the menstrual excretion, first menstrual flow. ...
Darśanapratibhū (दर्शनप्रतिभू).—a bail or surety for appearance; Y.2.54; Ms.8.16.Derivable form...
Darśanapratimā (दर्शनप्रतिमा) refers to “the stage of right views” and represents the first of ...
Kleśāvaraṇa (क्लेशावरण) or simply Kleśa refers to the “obstruction of defilements” and represen...
Pratyakṣadarśana (प्रत्यक्षदर्शन).—ocular evidence, direct proof. Derivable forms: pratyakṣadar...
Dūradarśana (दूरदर्शन).—a. visible only from afar; अहो सनाथा भवतास्म यद्वयं त्रैविष्टपानामपि दू...
āvaraṇapūjā (आवरणपूजा).—f (S) Worship of the āvaraṇa- dēvatā (encircling court of deities), and...
Vyavahāradarśana (व्यवहारदर्शन).—trial, judicial investigation. Derivable forms: vyavahāradarśa...
Āvaraṇaśakti (आवरणशक्ति).—mental ignorance (which veils the real nature of things).Derivable fo...
Durdarśana (दुर्दर्शन) participated in the war between Rāma and Rāvaṇa, on the side of the latt...

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: