Caturdevi, aka: Caturdevī, Catur-devi; 1 Definition(s)


Caturdevi means something in Buddhism, Pali. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

Alternative spellings of this word include Chaturdevi.

In Buddhism

General definition (in Buddhism)

Caturdevi in Buddhism glossary... « previous · [C] · next »

Caturdevī (चतुर्देवी) refers to the “four Goddesses” as defined in the Dharma-saṃgraha (section 4):

  1. Rocanī (Yellow goddess),
  2. Māmakī (Devoted goddess),
  3. Pāṇḍurā (White goddess),
  4. Tārā (Shining goddess).

The Dharma-samgraha (Dharmasangraha) is an extensive glossary of Buddhist technical terms in Sanskrit (eg., caturdevī). The work is attributed to Nagarguna who lived around the 2nd century A.D.

Source: Wisdom Library: Dharma-samgraha

Relevant definitions

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: