Caturdashalokapala, Caturdaśalokapāla, Caturdasha-lokapala: 1 definition



Caturdashalokapala means something in Buddhism, Pali. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

The Sanskrit term Caturdaśalokapāla can be transliterated into English as Caturdasalokapala or Caturdashalokapala, using the IAST transliteration scheme (?).

Alternative spellings of this word include Chaturdashalokapala.

In Buddhism

General definition (in Buddhism)

[«previous (C) next»] — Caturdashalokapala in Buddhism glossary
Source: Wisdom Library: Dharma-samgraha

Caturdaśalokapāla (चतुर्दशलोकपाल) refers to the “fourteen world protectors” as defined in the Dharma-saṃgraha (section 10):

  1. Indra,
  2. Yama,
  3. Varuṇa,
  4. Kubera,
  5. Īśāna,
  6. Agni,
  7. Nairṛta,
  8. Vāyu,
  9. Brahmā,
  10. Kṛṣṇa,
  11. Candra,
  12. Sūrya,
  13. Pṛthvī,
  14. Asura.

The Dharma-samgraha (Dharmasangraha) is an extensive glossary of Buddhist technical terms in Sanskrit (eg., caturdaśa-lokapāla). The work is attributed to Nagarguna who lived around the 2nd century A.D.

See also (Relevant definitions)

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: