Candrajnanagama, aka: Candrajnana-agama, Candrajñānāgama; 3 Definition(s)


Candrajnanagama means something in Hinduism, Sanskrit. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

Alternative spellings of this word include Chandrajnanagama.

In Hinduism

Shaivism (Shaiva philosophy)

Candrajnanagama in Shaivism glossary... « previous · [C] · next »

Candrajñānāgama (चन्द्रज्ञानागम):—One of the 28 Śaivāgamas. This is one of the five Āgamas that were proclaimed to the world by the Tatpuruṣa face (of Śiva).

Source: Wisdom Library: Śaivism

Candrajñānāgama (चन्द्रज्ञानागम) or simply Candrajñāna refers to one of the twenty-eight Siddhāntāgama: a classification of the Śaiva division of Śaivāgamas. The Śaivāgamas represent the wisdom that has come down from lord Śiva, received by Pārvatī and accepted by Viṣṇu. The Śaivāgamas are divided into four groups viz. Śaiva, Pāśupata, Soma and Lākula. Śaiva is further divided in to Dakṣiṇa, Vāma and Siddhānta (eg., candrajñāna-āgama).

According to the pratisaṃhitā theory of Āgama origin and relationship (sambandha), it was Sadāśiva who first imparted the Candrajñānāgama through parasambandha to Ananta, who then imparted it through mahānsambandha to Bṛhaspati who then, through divya-sambandha, transmitted it to the Devas who, through divyādivya-sambandha, transmitted it to the Ṛṣis who finally, through adivya-sambandha, revealed the Candrajñānāgama to human beings (Manuṣya). (also see Anantaśambhu’s commentary on the Siddhāntasārāvali of Trilocanaśivācārya)

The Upāgamas for Candrajñānāgama are: Sthira, Sthāṇu, Mahānta, Vāruṇa, Nandikeśvara, Ekapādapurāṇa, Śaṅkaṛa, Nīlarudraka, Śivabhadra, Kalpabheda, Śrīmukha, Śivāsana, Śivaśekhara and Devīmata. The purpose of revealing Upāgamas is to explain more elaborately than that of Mūlāgamas and to include any new idea if not dealt in Mūlāgamas.

Source: Shodhganga: Iconographical representations of Śiva
Shaivism book cover
context information

Shaiva (शैव, śaiva) or Shaivism (śaivism) represents a tradition of Hinduism worshiping Shiva as the supreme being. Closely related to Shaktism, Shaiva literature includes a range of scriptures, including Tantras, while the root of this tradition may be traced back to the ancient Vedas.

Discover the meaning of candrajnanagama in the context of Shaivism from relevant books on Exotic India

General definition (in Hinduism)

Candrajnanagama in Hinduism glossary... « previous · [C] · next »

Candrajñānāgama is a Siddhānta Upāgama which defines itself as a pratiṣṭhātantra i.e., a tantra which deals with ritual procedures concerning the installation and worship of representations of Śaiva deities, including liṅgas.

Source: Wisdom Library: Hinduism

Relevant definitions

Search found 878 related definition(s) that might help you understand this better. Below you will find the 15 most relevant articles:

Āgama (आगम).—The āgamas are said to have originated from the five faces of Śiva. At the time of...
Śaivāgama (शैवागम) refers the canonical texts of Śaivism. The āgama texts are the philosophical...
Jalāgamā (जलागमा).—n. of a river: Suv 187.1; 188.11.
Kāmikāgama (कामिकागम) refers one of the twenty eight Śaivāgamas.—The Kāmikāgama is one of the p...
Vātulāgama (वातुलागम) or simply Vātula refers to one of the twenty-eight Siddhāntāgama: a class...
Rauravāgama (रौरवागम) or simply Raurava refers to one of the twenty-eight Siddhāntāgama: a clas...
Uṣṇāgama (उष्णागम).—m. (-maḥ) The hot season, consisting of two months, about June and July. E....
Vittāgama (वित्तागम).—acquisition of wealth. Derivable forms: vittāgamaḥ (वित्तागमः).Vittāgama ...
Santānāgama (सन्तानागम) or simply Santāna refers to one of the twenty-eight Siddhāntāgama: a cl...
Sahasrāgama (सहस्रागम) or simply Sahasra refers to one of the twenty-eight Siddhāntāgama: a cla...
Vimalāgama (विमलागम) or simply Vimala refers to one of the twenty-eight Siddhāntāgama: a classi...
Sūkṣmāgama (सूक्ष्मागम) or simply Sūkṣma refers to one of the twenty-eight Siddhāntāgama: a cla...
Cintyāgama (चिन्त्यागम) or simply Cintya refers to one of the twenty-eight Siddhāntāgama: a cla...
Suprabhedāgama (सुप्रभेदागम) or simply Suprabheda refers to one of the twenty-eight Siddhāntāga...
Makuṭāgama (मकुटागम) or simply Makuṭa refers to one of the twenty-eight Siddhāntāgama: a classi...

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: