Ashtangayoga, aka: Ashtanga-yoga, Aṣṭāṅgayoga; 4 Definition(s)


Ashtangayoga means something in Hinduism, Sanskrit, Marathi. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

The Sanskrit term Aṣṭāṅgayoga can be transliterated into English as Astangayoga or Ashtangayoga, using the IAST transliteration scheme (?).

In Hinduism

Purana and Itihasa (epic history)

Ashtangayoga in Purana glossary... « previous · [A] · next »

Aṣṭāṅgayoga (अष्टाङ्गयोग).—Yama, Niyama, Āsana, Prāṇāyāma, Pratyāhāra, Dhyāna, Dhāraṇā and Samādhi. Yama. That which prevents the yogīs from doing prohibited things. Ahiṃsā, Satya, Asteya, Brahmacarya and Aparigraha are yamas. (See full article at Story of Aṣṭāṅgayoga from the Puranic encyclopaedia by Vettam Mani)

Source: Puranic Encyclopaedia

Aṣṭāṅgayoga (अष्टाङ्गयोग).—Consists of āsana, prāṇarodha, pratyāhāra, dhāraṇā, dhyāna, samādhi, together with yamas and niyamas.*

  • * Viṣṇu-purāṇa 104. 24-25.
Source: Cologne Digital Sanskrit Dictionaries: The Purana Index
Purana book cover
context information

The Purana (पुराण, purāṇas) refers to Sanskrit literature preserving ancient India’s vast cultural history, including historical legends, religious ceremonies, various arts and sciences. The eighteen mahapuranas total over 400,000 shlokas (metrical couplets) and date to at least several centuries BCE.

Discover the meaning of ashtangayoga or astangayoga in the context of Purana from relevant books on Exotic India

Shaktism (Shakta philosophy)

Ashtangayoga in Shaktism glossary... « previous · [A] · next »

Aṣṭāṅgayoga (अष्टाङ्गयोग) is explained by Lakṣmaṇadeśika in his 11th-century Śaradātilaka as yoga consisting of eight limbs, listed as:

  1. yama,
  2. niyama,
  3. āsana,
  4. prāṇāyāma,
  5. pratyāhāra,
  6. dhāraṇā,
  7. dhyāna
  8. samādhi.

Thus they are identical with those found in the Yogasūtras of Patañjali (2.29). However, while the Yogasūtras list five yamas and five niyamas (2.30, 2.32), the Śaradātilaka lists ten each (7–9ab).

Source: The Śāradātilakatantra on Yoga
Shaktism book cover
context information

Shakta (शाक्त, śākta) or Shaktism (śāktism) represents a tradition of Hinduism where the Goddess (Devi) is revered and worshipped. Shakta literature includes a range of scriptures, including various Agamas and Tantras, although its roots may be traced back to the Vedas.

Discover the meaning of ashtangayoga or astangayoga in the context of Shaktism from relevant books on Exotic India

Languages of India and abroad

Marathi-English dictionary

Ashtangayoga in Marathi glossary... « previous · [A] · next »

aṣṭāṅgayōga (अष्टांगयोग).—m S Yoga or Austere devotion in its eight branches or modes. See the eight under aṣṭavidhasamādhi. Ex. aṣṭāṅgayōgābhyāsēṃ || citta nirmaḷa hōya āpaisēṃ ||

Source: DDSA: The Molesworth Marathi and English Dictionary
context information

Marathi is an Indo-European language having over 70 million native speakers people in (predominantly) Maharashtra India. Marathi, like many other Indo-Aryan languages, evolved from early forms of Prakrit, which itself is a subset of Sanskrit, one of the most ancient languages of the world.

Discover the meaning of ashtangayoga or astangayoga in the context of Marathi from relevant books on Exotic India

Relevant definitions

Search found 1131 related definition(s) that might help you understand this better. Below you will find the 15 most relevant articles:

Yoga (योग).—m. (Pali id., PTSD s.v. 3; not in Sanskrit), bond, tie, attachment (in Pali numberi...
Yogāsana (योगासन).—n. (-naṃ) A religious posture, the position in which the devotee sits to per...
Rājayoga (राजयोग).—m. (-gaḥ) 1. The configuration of planets at the birth of a man indicating h...
Yogeśvara (योगेश्वर).—1) an adept in or a master of Yoga. 2) one who has obtained superhuman fa...
Haṭhayoga (हठयोग).—m. (-gaḥ) A particular mode of Yoga, or abstract contemplation difficult to ...
Aṣṭāṅga (अष्टाङ्ग).—a. consisting of eight parts or members. (-ṅgam) 1 the eight parts of the b...
Yogakṣema (योगक्षेम).—(m. ? so Pali yogakkhema; not in this sense in Sanskrit), spiritual succe...
Yoganidrā (योगनिद्रा).—f. (-drā) 1. The sleep of Vishnu during the deluge. 2. A state of half c...
Yogavāsiṣṭha (योगवासिष्ठ).—Name of a work (treating of the means of obtaining final beatitude b...
Yogācāra (योगाचार) refers to “practicing the practices” and represents one of the ten Bodhisatt...
Kriyāyoga (क्रियायोग).—1) connection with the verb. 2) the employment of expedients or means; त...
Yogamāyā (योगमाया) refers to “miraculous power”, acquired by practising yoga. Śrī mentions that...
Karmayoga (कर्मयोग).—1) performance of actions, worldly and religious rites; कर्मयोगेन योगिनाम्...
Yogatārā (योगतारा).—f. (-rā) The chief star in a constellation.
Phalayoga (फलयोग).—m. (-gaḥ) 1. The attainment of an object. 2. Remuneration, wages.

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: