Anumatityagapratima, aka: Anumatityāgapratimā, Anumatityaga-pratima; 1 Definition(s)


Anumatityagapratima means something in Jainism, Prakrit. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Jainism

General definition (in Jainism)

Anumatityagapratima in Jainism glossary... « previous · [A] · next »

Anumatityāgapratimā (अनुमतित्यागप्रतिमा) or simply Anumatityāga represents the tenth of eleven pratimā (stages) laid down for Jain laymen. Anumatityāgapratimā refers to “increasing the rigour of living in the direction of asceticism and refraining even from giving advice on matters relating to family honour, business and the like” according to J. L. Jaini in his “outlines of Jainism” (pp. 67-70).

These pratimās (eg., anumatityāga-pratimā) form a series of duties and performances, the standard and duration of which rises periodically and which finally culminates in an attitude resembling monkhood. Thus the pratimās rise by degrees and every stage includes all the virtues practised in those preceeding it. The conception of eleven pratimās appears to be the best way of exhibiting the rules of conduct prescribved for the Jaina laymen.

Source: Wisdom Library: Jainism
General definition book cover
context information

Jainism is an Indian religion of Dharma whose doctrine revolves around harmlessness (ahimsa) towards every living being. The two major branches (Digambara and Svetambara) of Jainism stimulate self-control (or, shramana, ‘self-reliance’) and spiritual development through a path of peace for the soul to progess to the ultimate goal.

Discover the meaning of anumatityagapratima in the context of General definition from relevant books on Exotic India

Relevant definitions

Search found 185 related definition(s) that might help you understand this better. Below you will find the 15 most relevant articles:

Pratimā (प्रतिमा) refers to “idols”, according to the Śivapurāṇa 2.1.12, while explaining the i...
Darśanapratimā (दर्शनप्रतिमा) refers to “the stage of right views” and represents the first of ...
Anumatityāga (अनुमतित्याग) refers to one of the eleven pratimās (eleven stages for becoming exc...
Sacittatyāgapratimā (सचित्तत्यागप्रतिमा) refers to “the stage of purity of nourishment” and rep...
Kāyotsargapratima (कायोत्सर्गप्रतिम) refers to “the stage of continence by day” and represents ...
Uddiṣṭatyāgapratimā (उद्दिष्टत्यागप्रतिमा) refers to “the stage of renunciation of the world” a...
Vratapratimā (व्रतप्रतिमा) refers to “the stage of taking the vows” and represents the second o...
Ārambhatyāgapratimā (आरम्भत्यागप्रतिमा) refers to “the stage of abandonment of activity ” and r...
Sāmāyikapratima (सामायिकप्रतिम) refers to “the stage opf practising the sāmāyika” and represent...
Poṣadhapratima (पोषधप्रतिम) refers to “the stage of fasting” and represents the fourth of eleve...
Devapratimā (देवप्रतिमा).—f. (-mā) An idol. E. deva, and pratimā image.
Lohapratimā (लोहप्रतिमा).—f. (-mā) 1. An image of iron. 2. An anvil. E. loha iron, pratimā an i...
Pratimālakṣaṇa (प्रतिमालक्षण) refers to the “body postures of the icons”, as defined according ...
Abrahmavarjanapratimā (अब्रह्मवर्जनप्रतिमा) refers to “the stage of absolute continence” and re...
Preṣyatyāgapratimā (प्रेष्यत्यागप्रतिमा) refers to “the stage of breaking the ties with the hou...

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: