The Catusacca Dipani

The Manual of the Four Noble Truths

by Mahathera Ledi Sayadaw | 1903 | 11,997 words

The Catusacca-Dipani The Manual of the Four Noble Truths By Mahathera Ledi Sayadaw, Aggamahapandita, D.Litt. Translated into English by Sayadaw U Nyana, Patamagyaw of Masoeyein Monastery Mandalay Edited by The English Editorial Board Note to the electronic version: This electronic version is reproduced directly from the printed version the te...

The Interpretation Of Nirodha-sacca

Noble Truth Of The Cessation Of Suffering

The four inherent characteristics of nirodha-sacca are:

  1. Nissaranattho -- having the characteristic of being an escape, liberation from suffering
  2. Pavivekattho -- having the characteristic of being free from disturbance
  3. Amatattho -- a state where there is no more death or dissolution
  4. Asankhatattho -- having the characteristic of the unoriginated (Nibbana).

Thus any dhamma that has the above four characteristics is called nirodha-sacca. Nibbana alone has the above four characteristics, so it is all nirodha-sacca.

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: