The Bhikkhus Rules

A Guide for Laypeople

by Bhikkhu Ariyesako | 1998 | 50,970 words

The Theravadin Buddhist Monk's Rules compiled and explained by: Bhikkhu Ariyesako Discipline is for the sake of restraint, restraint for the sake of freedom from remorse, freedom from remorse for the sake of joy, joy for the sake of rapture, rapture for the sake of tranquillity, tranquillity for the sake of pleasure, pleasure for the sake of conce...


AB = Ajahn Brahmavamsos Notes
BA = Banner of the Arahants
BBC = Burmese Buddhist Culture
BMC = The Buddhist Monastic Code, Volume I
EN = End Notes
EV = The Entrance to the Vinaya, (Vinayamukha) in 3 vols
HS = The Heritage of the Sangha
Nv = Navakovaada: Instructions for newly ordained Bhikkhus and Saamaneras
Nis. Paac. = nisaggiya paacittiya offence
OP = Ordination Procedure
Paac. = paacittiya offence
Paar. = paaraajika offence
Paat. = Paa.timokkha text and English translation (1966 or 1969 edition)
Sa"ngh. = sa"nghaadisesa offence

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: