Maha Prajnaparamita Sastra

by Gelongma Karma Migme Chödrön | 2001 | 940,961 words

This page describes “jataka” as written by Nagarjuna in his Maha-prajnaparamita-sastra (lit. “the treatise on the great virtue of wisdom”) in the 2nd century. This book, written in five volumes, represents an encyclopedia on Buddhism as well as a commentary on the Pancavimsatisahasrika Prajnaparamita.

Stories of previous lives (jātaka):

[The lion, the monkey and the vulture]

[The red fish]

[The bird that broke a net]

– There are innumerable stories of this kind where people are saved: they are called Jātakas.