Maha Prajnaparamita Sastra

by Gelongma Karma Migme Chödrön | 2001 | 941,039 words

This page describes “three faculties of understanding” as written by Nagarjuna in his Maha-prajnaparamita-sastra (lit. “the treatise on the great virtue of wisdom”) in the 2nd century. This book, written in five volumes, represents an encyclopedia on Buddhism as well as a commentary on the Pancavimsatisahasrika Prajnaparamita.

- Sub-Contents: (+ / -)

Sūtra (cf. Pañcaviṃśati, p. 20, l. 11–12; Śatasāhasrikā, p. 63, l. 4–6). – [The bodhisattva-mahāsattva must completely fulfill] three faculties (trīṇīndriyāṇi):

  1. the faculty signifying: I will understand that which I do not understand (anājñātamājñāsyāmīndriya)
  2. the faculty of understanding (ājñendriya)
  3. the faculty of that which has been understood (ājñātāvīndriya).

Śāstra. –

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: