Maha Prajnaparamita Sastra

by Gelongma Karma Migme Chödrön | 2001 | 941,039 words

This page describes “the five powers” as written by Nagarjuna in his Maha-prajnaparamita-sastra (lit. “the treatise on the great virtue of wisdom”) in the 2nd century. This book, written in five volumes, represents an encyclopedia on Buddhism as well as a commentary on the Pancavimsatisahasrika Prajnaparamita.

Mahāyāna auxiliaries (E): The five powers

When the bodhisattva has progressed in the practice of the five faculties (indriya), he is able to destroy the afflictions (kleśa), save beings and acquire the [205a] conviction that dharmas do not arise (anutpattikadharmakṣānti): this is what is called the five powers or strengths (bala).

Moreover, as the god Māra and heretics (tīrthika) are unable to destroy them, they are called powers or strengths.

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: