Maha Prajnaparamita Sastra

by Gelongma Karma Migme Chödrön | 2001 | 940,961 words

This page describes “pranidhijnana, pratisamvid and aranasamadhi” as written by Nagarjuna in his Maha-prajnaparamita-sastra (lit. “the treatise on the great virtue of wisdom”) in the 2nd century. This book, written in five volumes, represents an encyclopedia on Buddhism as well as a commentary on the Pancavimsatisahasrika Prajnaparamita.

7. Praṇidhijñāna, Pratisaṃvid and Araṇāsamādhi

Among the concentrations, there are also the knowledge resulting from resolve (praṇidhijñāna), the four infallible knowledges (pratisaṃvid) and the concentration preventing anyone from harming you (araṇāsamādhi).


If he wishes to know the objects of the threefold world, he knows them according to,his wish. The praṇidhijñāna is of two levels, kāmadhātu and the fourth dhyāna.

Note: Praṇidhijñāna, in Kośa, VII, p. 88–89.

The four pratisaṃvids.

The infallible knowledge of teaching (dharmapratisaṃvid) and that of the voice (niruktipratisaṃvid) are of two levels, kāmadhātu and the first dhyāna; the other two pratisaṃvids, [of things (artha) and of eloquence (pratibhāna)] are of nine levels: kāmadhātu, four dhyānas and four ārūpyasamāpattis.

Note: Pratisaṃvid, in Kośa, VII, p. 89–94.


Araṇāsamādhi is a concentration preventing someone from harming you. It is of five levels, kāmadhātu and four dhyānas.

Note: Araṇasamādhi, see above, Traité, I, p. 4F, n. 1; Kośa, VII, p. 86–87.