Guhyagarbha Tantra (with Commentary)

by Gyurme Dorje | 1987 | 304,894 words

The English translation of the Guhyagarbha Tantra, including Longchenpa's commentary from the 14th century. The whole work is presented as a critical investigation into the Nyingma School of Tibetan Buddhism, of which the Guhyagarbhatantra is it's principle text. It contains twenty-two chapters teaching the essence and practice of Mahayoga, which s...

Text 7.15 (Commentary)

[Guhyagarbha-Tantra, Text section 7.15]



[ii. Secondly, there are the mantras through which power is introduced, and blessing conferred by the five enlightened families. (It comments on Ch. 7.15):]

OṂ SARVATATHĀGATA MAHĀKĀYA VAJRASVABHĀVĀTMAKO/HAṂ means "I am the great natural expression of indestructible reality, the buddha-body of all the Tathāgatas". Similarly, VĀKVAJRA indicates the indestructible reality of buddha-speech, CITTAVAJRA indicates the indestructible reality of buddha-mind, ANURĀGAṆAVAJRA indicates the indestructible reality of enlightened attributes, and PŪJĀVAJRA indicates the indestructible reality of enlightened activity. Through these (mantras), the five Tathāgatas are visually created in the five centres of all the deities. More than twenty-one thousand buddhas abide in this illuminating contemplation because they are visualised within the five centres (of the deities). The number twenty-one thousand refers to the blessings of the buddha-body, speech and mind.[1]

It says in the Tantra of the Penetrating Magical Net (NGB. Vol. 15):

The great assembled host, emanating light-rays
From the syllables which fill their three centres,
Absorb the three world-systems in their blessing and lustre.
The three centres of natural indestructible reality
Manifest in and of themselves as two kinds of seed (syllable).[2]

So in addition to these, there are enlightened attributes and activities which emanate from the syllables SVA and HA in the navel and secret centres respectively.

As the same text says:

In the moon-discs of the two centres—
The navel and the one associated with it—[3]
The two pale green syllables SVĀ and HĀ
Emanate and absorb their corresponding light-rays.
Whereby enlightened attributes and perfect charisma are possessed.

Therefore (the deities) are adorned by the five enlightened families of buddha-body, speech, mind, attributes, and activities.

[iii. Thirdly, there is the appearance of the blessings which emerge therefrom. (It comments on Ch. 7.16):]

[Read next page]

Footnotes and references:


On the composition of this number through the multiplication of the blessings of buddha-body, speech and mind, see below. Ch. 8, pp. 736-741.


I.e. the syllables OṂ, ĀḤ, HŪṂ in the three centres of crown, throat and heart, which are identified respectively with buddha-body, speech and mind, manifest also as the seed-syllables, SVĀ and HĀ, indicating enlightened attributes and activities.


Tibetan lte-ba rnam-gnyis zla-ba-la indicates the navel and secret centres.

Help me keep this site Ad-Free

For over a decade, this site has never bothered you with ads. I want to keep it that way. But I humbly request your help to keep doing what I do best: provide the world with unbiased truth, wisdom and knowledge.

Let's make the world a better place together!

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: