Abhidhamma in Daily Life (by Ashin Janakabhivamsa)

by Ashin Janakabhivamsa | 66,666 words

English translation of "Abhidhamma in Daily Life" by Professor Ko Lay. Revised by Sayadaw U Silananda, International Theravada Buddhist Missionary University, Yangon, 1999...

Chapter 11 - Planes Of Existence

- Sub-Contents: (+ / -)

The abodes of living beings are known as bhumi. There are 31 Bhumis (planes of existence) - four woeful planes, seven sensuous blissful planes and twenty Brahma planes.

The four woeful planes are Niraya (hell), animal kingdom, Peta (hungry ghosts) and Asura kaya (demons). The seven sensuous blissful planes are the human world and six celestial planes, namely - Catumaharaja (the realm of the Four Kings), Tavatimsa (the realm of the Thirty-three gods. Yama (the realm of Yama gods), Tushita (the delightful realm), Nimmanarati (the realm of gods enjoying their own creation) and Paranimmitavassavati (the realm of gods lording over the creation of others). In twenty Brahma abodes there are sixteen Rupa Brahma and four Arupa Brahma planes.

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: