A Manual of Abhidhamma

by Nārada Thera | 80,494 words | ISBN-13: 9789380336510

In the Abhidhammattha Sangaha there is a brief exposition of the Law of Dependent Origination, followed by a descriptive account of the Causal Relations that finds no parallel in any other philosophy. Edited in the original Pali Text with English Translation and Explanatory Notes by Narada Maha Thera....

Immoral Consciousness

Akusala Cittāni

§ 17.

  1. Akusalesu pana lobhamūlesu tāva patha me asankhārike aññasamānā terasa cetasikā akusalasādhāranā cattāro c'āti sattarasa lobhaditthīhi saddhim ekunavīsati dhammā sangaham gacchanti.
  2. Tath'eva dutiye asankhārike lobhamānena.
  3. Tatiye tath'eva pītivajjitā lobha-ditthīhī saha atthārasa.
  4. Catutthe tath'eva lobha-mānena.
  5. Pañcame patighasampayutte asankhārike doso issā macchariyam kukkuccañc'āti catūhi saddhim pītivajjitā te eva vīsati dhammā sangayhanti. Issā-macchariya-kukkuccāni pan'ettha paccekam'eva yojetabbāni.
  6. Sasankhārikapañcake' pi tath'eva thīnamiddhena visesetvā yojetabbā.
  7. Chanda-pītivajjitā pana aññasamānā ekādasa akusalasādhāranā cattāro c'ātpannarasa dhammā uddhaccasahagate sampayujjanti.
  8. Vicikicchāsahagatacitte ca adhimokkha virahitā vicikicchā sahagatā tath'eva panna rasadhammā samupalabbhantī' ti sabbathā pi dvādasā-kusala-cittuppādesu paccekam yojiyamānā' pi gananavasena sattadhā'va sangahitā bhavantī'ti .

§ 18.

Ekūnavīsatthārasa - vīsekavīsa vīsati
Dvāvīsa pannarase'ti - sattadhā kusale thitā
Sādhāranā ca cattāro - samānā ca dasā pare.
Cuddasete pavuccanti - sabbākusalayogino.



§ 17.

  1. Now, in immoral consciousness, to begin with, in the first unprompted consciousness[1] nineteen mental states enter into combination - namely, thirteen unmoral concomitants, the four common immoral concomitants, making seventeen, together with attachment and misbelief. (13 + 4 + 2 = 19)
  2. Similarly in the second unprompted consciousness[2] the same seventeen, together with attachment and conceit. (13 + 4 + 2 = 19)
  3. Similarly in the third unprompted consciousness there are eighteen concomitants, together with attachment and misbelief but excluding joy.[3] (12 + 4 + 2 = 18)
  4. Similarly in the fourth (there are eighteen) with attachment and conceit. (12 + 4 + 2 = 18)
  5. In the fifth unprompted consciousness connected with aversion the above twenty concomitants, excluding joy,[4] are combined together with hatred, jealousy, avarice and worry. Of them jealousy, avarice and worry should be combined separately.[5] (12 + 4 + 4 = 20)
  6. In the five types[6] of prompted consciousness the above concomitants should similarly be combined with this difference that sloth and torpor are included. (21; 21; 20; 20; 22).
  7. In the type of consciousness connected with restlessness fifteen mental states occur - namely, eleven aññasamānas excluding conation[7] and joy, and the four immoral Universals. (11 + 4 = 15)
  8. In the type of consciousness connected with perplexity fifteen states are similarly obtained together with perplexity, but devoid of decision.[8] (10 + 4 + 1 = 15)

Thus in all the twelve types of immoral consciousness synthesis becomes sevenfold when reckoned according to their different combinations.[9]

§ 18.

Nineteen, eighteen, twenty, twenty-one, twenty, twenty-two, fifteen, - thus they stand in seven ways in the immoral consciousness.

Those fourteen mental states - namely, the four immoral universals, and ten unmorals,[10] are said to be associated with all the immoral types of consciousness.

Footnotes and references:


i.e., Somanassa sakagata ditthigata sampayutta asankhārika citta - Unprompted consciousness, accompanied by pleasure, connected with misbelief.


i.e., the unprompted consciousness not connected with misbelief. Conceit and misbelief do not coexist.


i.e.. the unprompted consciousness accompanied by upekkhā. Joy does not coexist with indifference.


Joy does not coexist with aversion and grief.


Being unfixed mental adjuncts (aniyatayogino). Their objects differ and they arise severally.


They are the four types of prompted consciousness rooted in attachment and the one rooted in aversion. Sloth and torpor are present only in the immoral prompted consciousness.


There is no chanda, the will-to-do, as restlessness is predominant here.


Adhimokkha, the mental factor that dominates in deciding cannot exist in a perplexed mind.


(i) 1st and 2nd asankhārika citta = 19; (ii) 3rd and 4th asankhārika citta = 18; (iii) 5th asankhārika citta = 20; (iv) 1st and 2nd sasanhhārika citta = 21; (v) 3rd and 4th sasankhārika citta = 20; (vi) 5th sasankhārika citta = 22; (vii) moha citta = 15. Thus they divide themselves into seven classes according to numbering.


i.e., excluding chanda, pīti, and adhimokha from the 13 aññasamānas.

Help me keep this site Ad-Free

For over a decade, this site has never bothered you with ads. I want to keep it that way. But I humbly request your help to keep doing what I do best: provide the world with unbiased truth, wisdom and knowledge.

Let's make the world a better place together!

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: