Wisdom Library Logo

Ten Precepts, 5 Definition(s)

Ten Precepts means something in Buddhism Check out some of the following descriptions and leave a comment if you want to add your own contribution to this article:

3 Definition(s) from various sources:

The novice (saama.nera) has Ten Precepts, as does the dasasiila mata nun. These are the same Eight as above, however the seventh precept is split into two and an extra tenth precept is added. Thus:

  1. to abstain from taking life.
  2. to abstain from taking what is not given.
  3. to abstain from unchastity.
  4. to abstain from false speech.
  5. to abstain from intoxicants causing heedlessness.
  6. to abstain from untimely eating.
  7. to abstain from dancing, singing, music and unseemly shows.
  8. to abstain from wearing garlands, smartening with scents, and beautifying with perfumes.
  9. to abstain from the use of high and large luxurious couches.
  10. to abstain from accepting gold and silver (money).
Rating: -
This is the code of monastic discipline for the monks. It consists of the Five Precepts (no stealing, sexual activity, killing, lying, or alcohol) which apply to all Buddhists, and five further restrictions designed specifically for members of the sangha. These are: (6) Not to take food from noon to the next morning. (7) Not to adorn the body with anything other than the monks robe. (8) Not to participate in or watch public entertainments. (9) Not to use high or comfortable beds. (10) Not to use money.
Rating: -
Include an expanded version of the Five Precepts of body and mouth (not to kill, steal, engage in illicit sex, lie, or take intoxicants) with the addition of the virtues of the mind (elimination of greed, anger and delusion). See also "Five Precepts," "Ten Evil Acts."
Rating: -

Look for other relevant definitions:

Search found 968 related definition(s) that might help you understand this better. Below you will find the 15 most relevant articles:

The basic guidelines of bodily and verbal conduct.
Five Precepts
Five Precepts See Shīla.
Eight Precepts
The Eight Precepts Pāṇātipātā veramaṇī sikkhāpadaṃ samādiyāmi. (I undertake the prec...
Ten Commandments
The popular name in this, as in so many instances,is not that of Scripture. There we have the "...
Ten Powers
Ten powers (Skt. daśavaśitā; Wyl. dbang bcu) — part of the twenty-one sets of immacula...
Ten Virtues
The virtuous modes of behavior, which are the positive counterparts to the Five Precepts.
Ten Fetters
Technically, liberation or enlightenment, involve the breaking of a succession of "fett...
Ten perfections
the 10: pāramī.
Ten Paramita
These are the qualities of character that, when perfected, lead to Buddhahood: 1. Generosity...
Ten Sins
1. Killing; 2.stealing; 3. sexual misconduct; 4. lying; 5. slander; 6. coarse language; 7. emp...
Ten Offerings
For the material there are ten kinds of offerings in Buddhism: 1. incense 2. flower 3. lam...
Ten Wholesomeness
see Ten Good Deeds.
Ten Plagues
The occasion on which the plagues were sent is described in Exod 3-12. The plague of blood.When...
Ten Principles
Nichiren Buddhists believe in ten basic principles as fundamental to human make up. These are: ...
Ten Reflections
Ten Reflections (anussati) upon the Buddha * the Dhamma the Sangha virtue (sila) .......

Search through other sources:

Search found 588 books containing Ten Precepts. You can also click to the full overview containing English textual excerpts. Below are direct links for the 20 most relevant articles:

- Was this explanation helpufll? Leave a comment:

Make this page a better place for research and define the term yourself in your own words.

You have to be a member in order to post comments. Click here to login or click here to become a member.