Wisdom Library Logo

Six Akanishthas, 1 Definition(s)

Six Akanishthas means something in Buddhism Check out some of the following descriptions and leave a comment if you want to add your own contribution to this article:

1 Definition(s) from various sources:

The six meanings of Akanishtha are given by Buddhaguhya in the Visionary Commentary:

  1. The genuine Akanishtha of the space of phenomena is the place where all buddhas reside; hence, no place is above this pure land.
  2. The symbolic Akanishtha of inseparable wisdom and phenomena appears in the shape and color of a celestial palace. This is the abode of the sambhogakaya; so it symbolizes the pure land of the space of phenomena, for which nothing is higher.
  3. The awareness Akanishtha is the wisdom awareness that realizes the fundamental nature of things just as they are. This is the abode of the dharmakaya of twofold purity, so there is no higher awareness than this pure land.
  4. The secret Akanishtha is the secret place of the consort. Given that this is the abode of the secret kaya, nothing is higher than this path, its place, and its noble qualities.
  5. The conceptual Akanishtha is the beginner's visualization of the palace. This is the abode of the surpassing samadhi mandala; hence, based on the generic image, there is nothing higher than this understanding.
  6. The worldly place of the Akanishtha is one of the five pure abodes of the gods. This is the abode of all sublime ones; so within the realms of form, there is nothing higher.
Rating: -

- Look for other relevant definitions:

Search found 988 related definition(s) that might help you understand this better. Below you will find the 15 most relevant articles:

· Akanishtha
It is said that the Sambhogakaya manifests not in any kind of spatial or phys...
2 desc.
· Six Worlds
There are six realms of samsara. Listed in ascending order according to the type...
3 desc.
· Six Dusts
See "Dusts."
3 desc.
· Six Paths
The paths within the realm of Birth and Death. Includes the three Evil Paths (h...
2 desc.
· Six Indriyas
Or Six Internal Bases, or Six Sense organs, or Six Places. They are eye, ear, no...
1 desc.
· Six Devalokas
According to the tradition preserved in the Abhidharmakosha of Vasubandhu (3 ...
1 desc.
· Six Darshanas
Traditionally, there are six Indian philosophies or metaphysical systems, called...
1 desc.
· Six Entrances
see Six Places and Six Indriyas.
1 desc.
· Six Gunas
Or Six External Bases, or Six Dusts. They are sight, sound, scent/smell, taste, ...
1 desc.
· Six Roots
Or Six Sense organs, see Six Indriyas.
1 desc.
· Six Fulfilment
The six requirements indicating that the Sutra is a true record of teachings giv...
1 desc.
· Six Places
Sanskrit word is Sadayatana. See Six Indriyas.
1 desc.
· Six Substances
State the numerical strength and location of all the six kinds of substances ...
1 desc.
· Six Consciousness
They are the perceptions and the discriminative ability of eye, ear, nose, tongu...
1 desc.
· Six Bardos
Shinay bardo (Tibetan): is the first bardo of birth and life. This bardo comm...
1 desc.

- Find the meaning of this word in books, articles, or other text:

Search found 1 books containing Six Akanishthas. You can also click to the full overview containing English textual excerpts. Below are direct links for the 20 most relevant articles:

» Click here to see all 1 search results in a detailed overview.


You have to be a member in order to post comments. Click here to login or click here to become a member.