Wisdom Library Logo

Catur Mahārāja, 1 Definition(s)

Catur Mahārāja means something in Hinduism Check out some of the following descriptions and leave a comment if you want to add your own contribution to this article:

1 Definition(s) from various sources:

Four Great Kings — four gods or deities who live on the lower slopes (fourth level) of Mount Meru in the Heaven of the Four Great Kings and guard the four cardinal directions. Each of them are leaders of a semi-divine class of beings living in their realm.

As a result of wishes made during the time of the previous Buddha—Kashyapa—the Four Guardian Kings were reborn in the time of Shakyamuni Buddha. Each uphold and teach the Dharma in their own realms, as well as—three times a month—surveying the four directions, protecting all who uphold the Buddha’s teachings. Always ready to protect the Dharma, they are surrounded by fire which represents the dynamism of their spiritual wisdom.

The Four Great Kings are:

  1. Dhritarashtra (Tib. Yulkhor Sun), 'Defender of the Area' in the east;
  2. Virudhaka (Tib. Pak Kyepo), 'Noble Birth' in the south;
  3. Virupaksha (Tib. Chen Mi Zang), 'Ugly Eyes' in the west; and
  4. Vaishravana (Tib. Namtösé), 'Son of He who has Heard Many Things' in the north.

etymology: Four Great Kings (Skt. Catur Mahārāja; Wyl. rgyal chen sde bzhi) or Guardians of the Universe (Skt. Lokapāla; Wyl. 'jig rten skyong ba).

Added: 17.Aug.2014 | bimbima: Hinduism
Rating: -

Look for other relevant definitions:

Search found 36 related definition(s) that might help you understand this better. Below you will find the 15 most relevant articles:

· Cātur
Four (catur) is the number of the earth, and represents the fulfilment of man...
2 desc.
· Catur Maharaja Kayika
The four heavens of the four Deva Kings. It is the lowest of the six heavens of ...
1 desc.
· Maharaja
mahārāja : (m.) a great king.
3 desc.
· Caturaśra
Caturaśra (चतुरश्र, “square”).—One of three main types of p...
3 desc.
· Catur-bhuja
Catur-bhuja (‘The four arms’): The four arms represent the three ...
1 desc.
· Catuṣpattrī
Catuṣpattrī (चतुष्पत्त्री) is another name for Suniṣaṇṇaka, which is a Sanskr...
1 desc.
· Raja
The king is created for the protection of the world from out of the body of f...
8 desc.
· Prahlāda
The history of Prahlada Maharaja, the great devotee of Nrsimhadeva, is narrat...
3 desc.
· Hari-varṣa
In the land known as Hari-varṣa, the exalted devotee Prahlāda Mahārāja worshi...
1 desc.
· Śrītattvanidhi
The Sritattvanidhi ("The Illustrious Treasure of Realities") is an ...
1 desc.
· Bhadrāśva
Bhadrāśva (भद्राश्व):—One of the three remaining sons of Kuvalayāśva (s...
3 desc.
· Devata Vagga
Devatā, (f.) (deva+tā, qualitative-abstr. suffix, like Lat. juventa, senecta, Go...
2 desc.
· Assa Sutta
1) Assa, 5 3. sg. Pot. of asmi (see atthi). (Page 90)2) Assa, 4 is Gen. Dat. sg....
2 desc.
· Vaisravana
One of the four maharaja deva graudians of the first or lowest devaloka on its f...
1 desc.
· Dhruva-ghāṭa
Dhruva-ghāṭa, where there are many nice trees of fruits and flowers, is famou...
2 desc.

Search through other sources:

Search found 351 books containing Catur Mahārāja. You can also click to the full overview containing English textual excerpts. Below are direct links for the 20 most relevant articles:

- Was this explanation helpufll? Leave a comment:

Make this page a better place for research and define the term yourself in your own words.

You have to be a member in order to post comments. Click here to login or click here to become a member.